The following letter is from a group of Linford College alumni to the chair of the art department at the college.

"In a recent survey of college graduates, 90 percent agreed that participating in an internship increased their chances of finding a job after graduation, but last year, only 40 percent of Linford’s graduating art students had completed an internship. Skyway Designs, located in nearby Linford City, is the perfect company for students to intern with for a number of reasons: They offer internships in all of their departments, so every student is sure to find work that they are interested in. Additionally, their internships offer flexible working hours. Finally, Skyway Designs is known for being one of the best in the design business, as over 80 percent of businesses in Linford City have used the services of Skyway Designs for their design needs. Given the vital role that work experience plays in a student’s success after graduation, we recommend that our art department require all art students to complete an internship with Skyway Designs before graduation."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The letter form the group of Linford Alumni puts across the idea that requires students to complete an internship at Skyway Design before graduation for certain reasons. Although the letter game some reasons to support its claims but are backed by flawed assumptions.

First, the letter points out that 60% of the students who did not complete an internship with Skyways Designs had not been provided with jobs. The argument is very flawed - no part of the letter stated 60% did not complete an internship at a different firm. The 60% might have landed better roles at bigger firms than Skyways Design. Although the letter did not give evidence for the point raised, it is likely to happen.

Additionally, the letter makes a premise that Skyway Designs covers all the departments of design and also has ample capacity for each department.

This point lacks the right evidence backing - what if the most students are biased towards a particular aspects of Design and would want to join that department . Some departments might over exceed their limit and might turn some students away or force them all in which would be a problem for students and the design firm. The letter could have supported this point with the maximum capacity of the design firm and also the maximum capacity of each department. These would help the students when they are choosing which department to work with.

Furthermore, the letter points out that Skyway Designs is still in the state and a perfect choice for students before the recent survey. This point is very flawed - the letter did not state the timing of the survey , recent survey might be last 5 or 3 years ago. that is enough time for a new company to take over the market and even succeed in poaching some of their best employees. Technology is moving up and many companies are looking for more advances ways to improve production. The company might not be able to teach the students modern ways of design. Skyway Design is a good firm but basing on past glories for good work without properly navigating their current and their demand on the market. The alumni group needs to look for factual evidence to back this claim.

In conclusion, the notion that the students should be made to complete an internship before is a very good idea. When in school the students are mostly though with case studies and theories hence the internship is a chance for them to get hands on working experience. The right systems must be put in place for that to happen. The writers should define the problem at hand first and find the right evidences need to found to support the letter and the claims.