The city of Winston has two large department stores: Namen and Roscoe. Namen is known for its high-end designer fashions, while Roscoe is known for more affordable fashion options. Both Namen and Roscoe are each considering opening another store in the growing suburb of Salem, where the population has grown over 50% in the last three years and where the median income is $75,000. Namen’s executives argue that as population and median income increase, people are willing to spend more money on clothing. However, Roscoe’s executives believe that the suburbs are more family oriented, and therefore their store will be more profitable than their competitor Namen.

The recommendations placed in this argument are based on faulty reasoning and , at the same time, are vague.

Primarily, the recommendations of the executives of both of the stores are based on the fact that they will make profit from their upcoming new store which is going to be opened in the growing suburb of Salem. Since, the place is a growing suburb, it may happen that the people who have started to live there are of lower income. As a result of their low income they are not going to spend their money on clothing and hence, both of the store will suffer. However, the argument has placed a idea about the median income of the area. But, there is a possibility that the median income of the whole country in that particular moment is much higher than that the value placed in this argument which indicates that the people, because of being poor, are not going to spend money on clothing. At the same time, it may happen that an inflation has occured which results in the increase of the income but decreases the monetary value. Because of the inflation, the average cost of living has increased and buying cost of all products in the city is very high and because of this fact the people are not going to spend money for clothing. Had the argument placed enough data about the median income, for example, the median income of the other city besides Salem, the average cost of living in the city only than the recommendations would be more valid.

However, Namen's executive argument on peoples' inclination to buying more clothing is not valid because it may happen that, if we consider other facts are positive for buying, the people are really miser: are not spending money at all and are saving money from the future. The executive's recommendation will prove to false if they do not buy new clothes from such expensive shops. At the same time, the recommendation of Roscoe's is also flawed because it may be possible that though being family oriented the people are very much fashionable and their sartorial consciousness is very high. Hence, they are not going to buy their clothings from a mediocre fashion store.

The recommendations are flawed because they are based on some faulty reasonings.