Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Advertising about their brand new products is a critically important method of making profit. Hence, it is no surprise that products, which have children as their target group, telecast advertisement to attract children to them. Those advertisements are beneficial for both the companies and the customers in some ways.

To begin with, parents become aware of the brand new products meant for their children from the television advertisement, and they can provide their children with the best available products in the market. Parents remain busy with their jobs and have hardly any time to analyze the products available in the market for their children. Because of time limitation they cannot just go to the market and find out which product has the best resources for their children. However, advertisements about those products in television assist them to judge the product while at home; information about newly available products help the parents to give an opportunity to their children to enjoy the best products in the market. For example, when I was a young child my parents used to buy me a particular brand of chocolates. They were very busy with their jobs and on their way home they used to bring with them only that brand of chocolate; in fact it was the only brand they were aware of. Meanwhile, one day they saw advertisement about a new brand of chocolate in the television. Then they found out that the new brand actually was much more economical and attractive than the previous one; next day they bought me that new chocolate. Without the advertisement of the chocolate they would not have change the brand which used to cost them more money.

Secondly, children get information about products that help them to do argument with other children about those products, and these arguments help their brain development. Ability to do argument and debate with other people is a great way to become a smart citizen. For instance, there may be variety of brands of toys in market. If those companies advertise their own products in television, then there may be divergent response from the children about those products. While at school, those children will do argument with each other about their choices. They may provide evidence for their choice and undermine the points made by the others. Debates like these help the brain and mental growth of the children, and we in turn get some smart future citizen who has the ability to judge between similar kinds of choices.

Television advertising targeted towards the children is an important thing. It helps the parents to make themselves aware of the new products available in the market for their children and makes ensure the proper mental growth of our future citizens.