The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

It is an unequivocal fact that the leaders of any generation, in government,industry or other fields, hold the most power in any nation and their temperament is crucial in the success or failure of the people they lead. This begs the questions; should young children, our future leaders, be groomed by instilling a sense of coperation or competition? I would like to contend that cooperation is a far more important aspect of a leader than competitiveness.

The ability to cooperate is a fundamental aspect of being a leader. A leader, by himself, can't achieve great heights without the support of those around him. Only through the collective efforts of the group can one hope to succeed. For instance, a politician might have great schemes in mind for his electorate. However, implementation of any proposal will require coordination with many other departments, without which the citizens can not hope to reap any benefits.

Instilling a sense of cooperation also helps individuals to judge the abilities of people around them; their strengths and their weaknesses. This judgment is of paramount importance to a leader without which all hopes and plans will be only perfunctory. For instance, if a CEO of a company doesn't have any clue about working in close coordination with people, how can he hope to assign tasks to the hundreds of people around him with tunnel vision.

Also, being cooperative makes a leader more amiable and dependable to his peers. Any leader who runs a one-man show can't hope to resolve issues from time to time. In fact, most employees won't even feel comfortable bringing the problems they face, on the table. In such a scenario, the leader will be tantamount to a burden on his own people.

However, things aren't always black and white and just being cooperative isn't enough. In this age of cut-throat competition, leaders need to be fiercely competitive if they hope to realise the goals set for themselves. Young students should definitely be also taught to be competitive among their peers and always aim to be the best. If a leader is not continuouslly driven and motivated by the success of his peers, he is not truly fullfiling his role.

In conclusion, any young students, aspiring to be a leader, needs to be of an eclectic nature. What is required is a fusion of both cooperation and competition to groom young ones to be the superlative leaders we hope them to be.