"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The author claims that the decline in viewership of the late-night news program is linked with decreased focus on weather news. The argument seems full-proof on the surface but has a few fallacies which need to be elaborated upon for the reader to concur with the conclusion.

Firstly, their is a tacit assumption that the increased complaints concerned with the coverage of weather and local news is because of their lower runtime. The author does not specify the subject of the complains. It might be the case that the inferior quality of the already reduced coverage of these issues has infuriated most viewers or the station has been outrightly neglecting these portions of the coverage. If it is the case, the author's arguments are unfounded.

Secondly, the author implicitly connects the loss of advertising revenues with the changes in the late-night news program. The loss of advertising revenues might have nothing to do with the changes in the program and might be happening because of the decline in viewership, which could be mitigated by improving the quality of the new program broadcasted. Also, it might be that this is simply a coincidence and the actual reason is some sort of temporary recession in local businesses, discouraging them from investing in advertisement. In such a case, increasing the coverage of local news and weather would have no effect.

The author also assumes that simply increasing the coverage of weather and local news will increase their viewership. Viewership has a lot to do with trust of viewers in your services and the recent dip in quality of the news might have left their audience skeptical of their program. The author needs to show that the program has a loyal audience, who would definitely come back as soon as the coverage was back to their liking.

In conclusion, the author should provide explanation for his assumptions, else the argument presented is obstinate.