Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only make our lives more complicated.

Technology has become increasingly integrated with our daily lives over the past few decades. Recent products of technology such as social media, smartphones, and similar gadgets have raised questions about whether technology is still a panacea as it was heralded to be at dawn of its advent. While technology does have a lot of demerits, like all tools, I believe that it has done more to simplify than complicate our lives.

Technology has exponentially increased our capacity and range of communication over the past century. The internet has been a boon to our generation, and we often take it for granted. It is possible now for people to work for and interact with people all over the globe. The free-flowing exchange of ideas and discoveries among bright scientists, artists, musicians, and people from all walks of life is going to propel us even further in the coming years, and this is all thanks to technology.

However, the internet has brought along, with all of its gifts, a lot of confusion as well. People send texts and communicate with their loved ones with their fingertips rather than waiting for days for the postal services to deliver them a short letter which has led to a whole new acronyms and emoji based language. This has added to the confusion and evolved into humans learning to interpret tones and hidden meanings in small texts. It has adversely affected social interactions among humans as we get accustomed to our lives in front of screens.

With the progress in communication technology, we have moved on from getting our news from reputed newspapers and a few channels on the radio to having round-the-clock new at the tip of our fingertips. This has its distinct benefits with the "common man" also able to freely express his/her views on the web and let their voices be heard. However, this has given rise to "citizen journalism," which has ingrained in itself a blatant oversight for accountability and verification of the truth and the sham. Whose story is to be believed and who is the one purporting bogus lies for their benefit. This has led to a lot of chaos, and innocent people have been caught in the crossfire.

In conclusion, technology is a tool, and using it the right way is a responsibility that rests on the shoulders on every man and woman reaping its benefits. As mentioned above, things like the internet, social media, and other communication tools, all have their pros and cons. It is up to us to decide when, where, and how to use it to simplify our lives rather than adding to the chaos.