The best leaders are those who encourage feedback from the people whom they lead.

A leader, in the most literal sense, is one who leads people around him. A leader could be associated with politics, sports, companies or any other group of people trying to achieve a target or give their best in some domain. A leader's role is a very crucial one. They shoulder immense responsibility and are tasked to take crucial decisions and implement the best plans to extract the utmost from the people they lead. This begs the question; should leaders encourage feedback and take the opinions of the people around them in account before making decisions? I definitely agree that encouraging feedback is imperative for success.

A leader is not some other-worldly entity who can guarantee success. It is only human that a leader may not be able to grasp certain aspects which the people around him may understand better. In such situations, the addition of a different perspective to the decision-making process can help bolster the leader's judgment of the situation around him. The Indian cricket team is a great example of this. Virat Kohli, the current captain, is always seen commmunicating with his teammates and discussing fielder placements with M.S. Dhoni (ex-captain). There have been multiple occasions where such small inputs from the players around him have resulted in a match-changing moment, ultimately resulting in victory of the team.

The impact of not receiving feedback can be catastrophic. A leader may start to believe that all is well and that his decisions are failure-proof and there is no more room for improvement. This can lead to overconfidence on part of the leader which, in turn, can severly harm the people around him. For instance, if the captain of a college team participating in some competition were to stop enganging actively with the other team members and not seek any advice, the final outcome of their hardwork might not pay off. If a safe environment conducive to exchange of opinions and ideas is not maintained, certain mistakes which could have potentially been avoided, might end up getting overlooked and prove to be disastrous for the team.

Furthermore, continuously seeking advice and opinions helps to keep the leader in check and also helps to keep a culture of tacit accountability in place on part of the team members. For instance, let there be a company which is developing some products. If the CEO didn't encourage feedback and opinions from other employees, many of these employees who are slacking off or not giving their best will never be noticed. On the contrary, the CEO may also become egoistical and start believing that his dexterity in all matters is unquestionable.