Green tea has long been hailed as an excellent source of antioxidants, powerful anti-aging and immune-system boosting compounds. Many people therefore believe that the more cups they consume each day, the greater the benefits. Green tea, however, contains moderate amounts of caffeine, a stimulant that is not without side effects, including sleeplessness, irritability, and headaches. A long-term study has found that those who drink more than three cups of green tea a day are likely to have symptoms similar to those that chronic coffee drinkers, another source of caffeine, suffer. Therefore, it is important that anyone who chooses to drink green tea limit their intake to no more than two cups a day.

The author has given quite a persuasive argument here against drinking more than two cups of green tea a day. However, there are some loopholes here which need to be elaborated upon for the reader to readily agree with the final conclusion.

The author claims that that green tea contains caffeine which has quite a few side-effects. A thorough study, to back these claims, is required. The effects of caffeine may greatly vary from person-to-person depending upon genotype, eating habits, body mass and a multitude of other factors. Consequently, this argument might be completely invalid for some portions of the populace. The author needs to show that a large proportion of people have a caffeine tolerance low enough for the listed side-effects to come into the picture.

Then the author goes on to quote the results from a long-term study. It is imperative to show that the sample size for the experiment was large and diverse enough. Suppose if the sample size was of a similar age range, one could easily argue that the effects noticed are consistent only in a particular demographic and isn't a general result which could be held true for people of all ages.

Another point on which the author could be contested is that the exact number three is the limit. A plausible instance is that those who showed similar effects as chronic coffee drinkers had a much higher intake of green tea than 3 cups. Meanwhile, most people who regularly drank 3 cups seemed to have reaped many benefits of green tea without any occurence of side-effects. In this case, the author needs to give quantifiable data for the reader to draw the same conclusion as him/her.

In conclusion, the author needs to provide more specifics as well as concrete data from the studies he/she has quoted and verify that a diverse sample size was used for the study before making a premature conclusion.