"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The statement made by the speaker about the leadership quality seems quite appropriate in its context that to prepare the young people for leadership in various organizations one of the easiest way is to incorporate a sense of cooperation in them rather than a sense of competition as a leader is supposed to gather up the potential of its group and efficiently put into use which can never be achieved by competing with others . Often times the leader is the one maintains a healthy environment by maintaining the unity of the group . It is more of a question of constructive or destructive attitude towards the work . As is quite evident that "competition " being a destructive trait would hinder the growth of the group/organization while the sense of cooperation in the leader can certainly be a driving force for the organization to grow.

A society should prepare its individuals for leadership in order for its growth and harmony. Leadership in the industry is necessary in order for its growth for which the individuals should aspire to become one. As these leaders of the world do enrich our potential by instilling hope to achieve things that were previously unachievable which often intellectually burgeons the society. This do create better opportunities for the upcoming generations to contribute to society and give a hand in its development. From wooden wheel to automobiles running on engine seems a long way that the society has traveled in its course of development,which has been achieved thruogh the vision of these leaders of the corporate world.In a way these leaders influence the economical landscape of the world.One may still argue that in order to imbibe the leadership quality, one need not instill the sense of cooperation alone but other factors do play a role .Albiet other factors do certainly play role but this factor alone plays a major role as the leaders often have to manage and deal with people and this constructive attitude can bring them towards success.

A competitive environment mostly hinders the potential of people to work with their full capability as a large chunk of energy is directed towards demeaning the other competitors which if utilized in constructive fashion can certainly be helpful for the organization.But at the same time it can be questioned that this competitive spirit do pushes the individuals to greater things as seen from the experiences of the market where competitors do come up with innovative solutions to ensure their survivle in the market . But a further question that can be counter asked is the extent of competition that is healthy for any organisation as a cut throat competition will make the corporates a money munching machine rather than working for the betterment of the society.

So all in all the statement as put forth by the speaker is quite approprite and needs certain touchup on some grounds which if incorporated will conspicously strengthen the base of the statement as proposed.