SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's original headquarters. Moreover, Middlesburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

The argument made several flawed assumptions. They used data which does not support the idea that SuperCorp made the best decision by moving their headquarters from Middlesburgh to Corporateville.

One of the assumptions is that an increase in number of homeowners in Corporateville makes it a better place to live compared to Middlesburg. First of all, the word better is subjective. What metrics were used to define what better is? And better for who? The executives or the employees. The increase in homeowners will not be better for the employees as this will increase the demand for homes. This in turn, will increase the price to purchase them. Perhaps if more data was provided as to how the company will alleviate the pain of having to pay for a high price for a house, then the argument would be stronger.

The second assumption is that there is a survey indicating workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. This may very well be the case, but there is no information as to what was specifically asked. Or data showing us reasons why employees dislike the urban environment. Perhaps, if data was shown showing most employees have children and there are more advantages for them if they lived in smaller town then the argument would improve.

Finally, the assumption that lower taxes imposed by the city of Corporateville lead to a safer place to work is flawed. If the city does not tax an appropriate amount, then it wouldn't be crazy to think they won't invest as much in security as the city of Middlesburg. If we were given more information of the type of business

SuperCorp is in, we may find there is less applicable regulations in the new town, therefore making internal security policies at SuperCorp less of a priority. This would not enhance SuperCorp's argument.

Based on the argument's provided by SuperCorp, the notion they made the best decision by moving their headquarters is flawed.