The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"Jazz music is extremely popular in the city of Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer, and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight. Also, a number of well-known jazz musicians own homes in Monroe. Nevertheless, the nearest jazz club is over an hour away. Given the popularity of jazz in Monroe and a recent nationwide study indicating that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment, a jazz music club in Monroe would be tremendously profitable."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

At first glance, the author seems to make a compelling argument behind the need to receive a small-business loan to create a new jazz club in Monroe. Once the reasoning is further inspected, there’s many questions that come up due to the lack of evidence behind the claims made. As a result, the argument is flawed and unless those questions are answered, the logic proves to be unsound.

Initially, the overall quest behind the loan request is to make a “tremendously profitable enterprise”. However, the author fails to provide any evidence that will lead the loaner to understand what he word profitable means according to the requestor. Needless to say, many questions come up trying to answer this assertion: What is their business plan? How long do they expect to take before they make a profit? How much do they intend to charge? Will they host concerts? Who will run the place? Those questions have got to be answered in order for anyone reading this request to have a decent idea of how the individuals filing the application will be successful in this endeavor.

Secondly, the author argues that 100,000 people attended the jazz festival last year. It is implied, that there is a market for those who will attend the new club. But, no context is provided to understand the situation around the festival. Sure, all those attendees could have been residents of the town, however one could think that the majority of those visitors came from across the country. For example, the Coachella festival hosts thousands of people once a year, but that doesn’t mean that they host raves every night. As it stands, this argument proves to be ineffective as it doesn’t relate how this festival will make the new club profitable all year long as opposed to a single event in the summer.

Lastly, according to a nationwide study, an average fan spends around $1,000 per year in jazz entertainment. Many holes can be found in this argument: Who made the study? What was their sample used? How did they determine the amount spent? What do they mean with jazz entertainment? Ultimately, is the nationwide jazz fan the same as the one in Monroe? None of the evidence required is provided to back this line of argument and how it will make the new club a success. The author should provide the data needed to understand if this will in fact make the new club profitable.

In conclusion, the author makes a bombastic argument as to why a business loan used to create a jazz club in Monroe will be profitable. During the argument, countless questions arise that negate the reasoning implied by the author: What is their business plan? Who are those people who attended the festival last year? Is the nationwide jazz enthusiast the same as the one in Monroe? Much more evidence needs to be provided by those seeking the loan, and until that is completed, the argument proves to be flawed and hollow.