The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author’s states that the decrease in number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been accompanied by a sharp increase in skateboarding popularity. The owners believe the skateboarders caused the decline in the number of shoppers. So, if skateboarding is banned, a prediction of previous levels of business will return to the shopping center. At first glance, the idea is plausible, but upon further observation the argument is flawed and not cogent.

To begin, the owner states the skateboarders have taken steps to damage the state of the area by vandalizing and littering the place. An important accusation that is unfounded as no evidence is provided. One would easily counteract this point by questioning the owners: Are they taking out their frustrations on the skateboarders? Do they have bad relations with them? Have they seen them mistreat the shopping center? If the owners do not have the evidence to back up this statement, then they shouldn’t make such a presumptuous accusation.

Furthermore, no information is provided about the opinion of the shoppers. Perhaps in their day to day interactions with them, they’ve heard of complaints involving the skateboarders, but it’s not mentioned in the owner’s letter. One would think that in order to make a desired goal more effective, they would need to provide customer reviews regarding this point. The owner could improve his argument by making a survey, or asking random shoppers what they think about the shopping center. What could be done to improve their experience? Once this data is accumulated, then they may have a stronger hand to back their premise.

Lastly, the owners have to think about the context of this issue. Are there any external factors affecting the shopping experience of the customers? They know of the vandalism and the littering, but how long has this been an issue? For that matter, how long have the skateboarders roamed in the plaza? Do they share the same timeline? Most important of all, are there any other shopping centers close to their location whom they have to compete with? There are countless of questions that have to be taken into account to properly establish what is the true underlying issue affecting the owners. So far, there is not enough data to support the owner’s logic.

The letter provided by the owner makes certain assumptions that once inspected, are flawed due to their lack of evidence. They blame the skateboarders for the vandalism, litter, and overall bad quality of the Central Plaza. At the same time, no consideration is given to the idea of obtaining information from the consumers to understand what their complaints may be. Other external factors seem to be largely ignored by the owner. One could believe the owner is looking for an easy solution, that if implemented may not lead to the desired consequence. Sooner or later, they will have to analyze the situation, and based on evidence, make calculated decisions to save their businesses.