The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee — a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

At first glance, the author’s argument seems plausible. After all, investing in their employee’s growth could have an increase in productivity in the long term. Nonetheless, once it’s fully analyzed, the assumption that the company should require all employees to partake in the course will clearly improve productivity is flawed and unsound.

To begin, the author emphasizes the idea that because other companies suggest the course has greatly improved productivity, this will occur in their own company as well. Two important questions are left unanswered: What does the word productivity in this context mean? How is it measured? It could be that in other companies, individuals were able to process more emails by teaching their employees how to be more efficient readers. Or perhaps they can read memos faster. However, none of those explanations back the idea that investing in this program had a definite impact worth the cost. In order for this point to have more weight, the author needs to provide data of how the program would directly and quantitatively improve the company and its employees.

Moreover, the author uses an example of a graduate of the program rising from an assistant manager position to vice president. It’s implied the employee’s success in the program led to his promotion. But, no context is provided behind this promotion. Possibly the employee had great credentials and the team he led was doing great at the time. Perhaps he was working on an MBA, and this was the tool that enhanced his resume enough to land him the position. The author should provide more evidence to understand why this promotion occurred and if in reality it had any impact in the success of the employee.

Lastly, the author says that the faster you read, the more information one can imbibe in a single workday. This is a quite a flawed statement. First of all, one can read as fast as they can, and it does not guarantee any individual’s grasp of the content. Second of all, most of us have a limited capacity of information we can process at any given time. One could argue that this directive will cause issues in the future as the employee’s brain power will be hindered by the quantity of information provided to them. Ultimately, this will not be beneficial to the employees or the company, proving to be a negative effect on productivity.

In conclusion, the director’s recommendation to have all employees go through the course to improve productivity is flawed. Many questions are left without response in his argument: How is productivity measured? What was the context behind the assistant manager’s promotion? What evidence can he produce to support the idea that the faster a person reads, the more information they absorb? If the author wants his argument to have validity, he should provide answers and evidence. Otherwise, his assumptions are flawed and hollow.