The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The prompt states that the cardinal goal of technological advancement should be to increment people’s efficiency, so in turn they can have more leisure time. I agree with the prompt as this will allow individuals to find more joy in their life by having free time to enjoy their friends and family. Also, this will present an opportunity for those overachievers to continue their growth either by participating in a new hobby or pursuing more education. Both of them allow society to improve.

Many people complain of the absence of free time due to their daily errands and activities. If technology gets to a point where many of those are simplified or can be left for a machine to take care of, then in theory individuals will have more free time to spend as they wish. This will allow society to enjoy their time with friends and family, bringing positivity and blissfulness into their life. One example of this phenomenon is the holidays. Everyone loves the holidays and looks forward to them. One reason is because they get to spend those days with their loved ones. Not only does it serve as a small break from the daily mundane life, but it serves as therapy that energizes society. Which is a great benefit.

Moreover, there is a segment of the population that are overachievers. They would appreciate this given time to educate themselves more or find a fulfilling hobby. When I was in college, I had a part time job that paid a decent wage that granted me the opportunity to study and be part of many clubs and organizations. As a result, I learned how to be a leader and the utility of multitasking and time management skills. If this example is extrapolated to the population as a whole, it would lead to an improvement in our society by providing people with more skills and experiences to allow them to become a more open minded society.

In contrast to my argument, some may propose the idea that not everyone has positive tendencies. More free time would permit those people to have negative actions that would increase vandalism or robberies. This is not incorrect as it would be a flawed assumption to think everyone shares the same concept of goodwill. Nonetheless, because society will have more free time, I would presume a portion of the population will dedicate themselves to be role models for the youth. Overtime, this would create a new generation of adults that will appreciate their surroundings more, and will be keen to give back to their community.

In conclusion, the main goal of technological advancements should be to create more leisure time for people. This will in turn bring tremendous benefits to everyone. It will bring more joy to society by granting time to be spent with family and friends, similar to the holidays. Furthermore, people will have more time to be more productive and may seek to educate themselves or learn new hobbies. Overall, more free time presents people with unlimited opportunities, and most people would seek to make the best of it.