Educators should find out what students want included in the curriculum and then offer it to them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In the prompt, it is suggested that educators should learn what students want in their curriculum, and based on that information, they should offer those classes to them. I disagree with the posture because educators have a higher level of maturity and knowledge to set a path for those students to follow which will lead to their success. This doesn’t mean students concerns should go unnoticed, but the last word should come from those in charge.

Let’s assume the prompt talks about high school students. It is safe to say, that the majority of those in high school are not mature enough to comprehend the reasoning behind the curriculum presented to them. Most of them go through a hard phase and question things as they exist. This mentality will not allow them to find value in the education system they are in. Just like if an adult finds out a child wants an endless supply of candy, that doesn’t mean the adult will comply with the request. In the same manner, educators shouldn’t comply blindly with those requests from their students.

Moreover, if the prompt talks about college students, things don’t necessarily get better compared to high school students. Only a small amount of those entering higher education understand with certainty their desired plan for their college career. Many individuals do not know what exactly they intend to do in their future, and being exposed to a multitude of classes, people of different backgrounds, and challenging experiences will give them an idea of what they want to pursue. As a result, the current system set up by educators provides them with opportunities and any changes should be thoroughly reviewed.

In contrast, students may argue that they know more what they are given credit for. Some of them may do, and it would be unfair to generalize the qualities of the students. This is where the knowledge and experience of educators should come in handy by allowing students to have a say in curriculums. As long as those suggestions are presented in a properly though out manner, then those in charge should take into account the suggestion. I deeply wished in high school I would’ve had a class about life that would teach basic life tasks: how to open a bank account, or buy a home. Nonetheless, a basic level of communication should exist between students and educators.

In conclusion, educators should not blindly take any suggestions to alter the curriculum unless it’s presented along with a deep explanation behind the need for such change. Those in charge should listen to students, and ultimately make the final decision that will prove to offer new benefits to those learning when a new curriculum is implemented.