Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

This part of our human history will be known for our use of technology. The technological advances made have caused us to rely more on technology such as our phones, computers and the internet. For this reason I believe technology simplifies our lives more than it complicates it.

Technology has simplified our lives in many ways. In the grand scheme of things, we have access to a wide array of information in our cell phones and computers. I rememberas a kid going on trips with my family, and watching my parents struggle with a paper map. Today, that's not the case anymore. The use of GPS has made life easier for everyone. It is also easy for us to communicate. Again, I remember watching older people use public phones to call their friends. If there was a meeting, and the other party was not there, they had to either wait for them or leave. In today's age, we can watch their location on a map.

There's also it's influence in how we enjoy music or books. One does not need to be confined to a small variety of music or books. There's literally thousands of items available at the tip of our hands. This grants us the opportunity to be exposed to many other ideas or cultures. For us to learn how to play a new intrument, or even learn a new language during our breaks.

On the other side of this argument, there are valid points made. The one that ressonates with me is the use of social media. Initially, it was praised as an achievement of humanity, but over time it has proved to be a complicated issue. People have access to many sources of information, and instead of keeping a healthy diet of ideas with multiple points of views, some choose to surround themselves with people telling them what they want to hear. Overall though, this is one of the few valid challenges to the idea that technology has simplified our lives.

The use of technology has simplified our lives. GPS, music and books on our phones are a few examples of the effects of technology we feel on a daily basis.