The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A nation that focuses on teaching its young people to emphasize cooperation instead of competition, can enjoy a great amount of social benefits. The majority of leaders would aim to improve the country, as opposed to holding on to power for their own selfish reasons.

One example where cooperation is displayed is in the army. They are taught to see everyone as their family, and the fundamental principle of never leaving someone behind. In the battlefield, they are united against the enemy. This benefits all the parties involved. Upper ranking members can easily manage their ranks and ask them to follow directions properly. Whereas individuals at the bottom of the rank, understand that following those rules will benefit them and their safety, but also the one of the nation they are serving. This basic premise exemplifies why cooperation is necessary to establish basic order and discipline.

Furthermore, if competition were the founding principle behind the elected leaders, there would be profound social programs. Jails would be used to rehabilitate individuals, as opposed to the way we use to punish those citizens. Homelessness would be tackled in an effective manner as to help those in need find a firm ground to become productive members of society. Mental issues would be deemed an important issue to research and treat. Healthcare would not have the exhorbitant prices as it currently does. Politicians would not fight about what social programs to keep. Instead, they would focus on the data as to how improve the lives of everyone in need.

Nonetheless, opponents to this idea will argue that we currently live in a country where competition has led to innovation. Consequently, this has made us better than anyone else in the world. Although, the country has benefitted from having individuals with a spirit of competition, too much of it can cause deep issues in society. One we see at the moment is inequality. The competitiveness of those making high sums of money, has led them to find ways to enrich themselves by making sure politicians respond to them instead of the general public. Decades of this mentality has driven inequality through the roof. We currently live in a society where people have to work two or three jobs to provide for their family. If the leaders valued cooperation more than competition, this would not be the issue it is today.

Teaching cooperation to the young would lead to a better society. An example of the military shows how this makes them stay united by taking care of everyone. Furthermore, the system of competition we have in the country has led to a large amount of social issues. This divide over cooperation and competition has only exhacerbated inequality and pushed us to a point where many people don't have faith in the elected leaders to do what is best for the country. Most of those issues would not exist if cooperation was a fundamental value that we all shared.