Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The premise of having an understanding of the past being of little use to those in current positions of leadership may be observed as one with nuanced positions. However, I disagree with the premise. As learning from the past is of great value to those competent leaders who want to do their best in their current positions. Those who disregard previous knowledge do so at their own peril.

One example that displays the worth of understanding the past is in politics. From the president to the local mayor, understanding the political process as it relates to the citizens is necessary to succeed. Sure, one could try to lead from their position unencumbered to pay respect to the past and seek to be triumphant in this manner. Nonetheless, the individual who seeks those with experience and knowledge will be more effective and successful. After all, there is a reason why those in leadership have advisors in their inner circle running through every move and possible scenarios with the utmost goal of making the right decision.

Another scenario applicable is in sports. Starting from the team owner to the team captain, in order to succeed they will have to understand how previous individuals acted in their positions and what was their outcome. A neophyte coach lacking experience is worthless to any franchise with the goal of winning. Any reputable individual trying to succeed will make their best attempt to learn from their previous experience and seek the advise of those who came before him. Just like the idea conveyed in the paragraph above, a coach with the ambition to succeed will align himself with other individuals who may provide other points of views that may aid him. In other words, advisors who can help him do better.

Nonetheless, someone who agrees with the premise of the article above, may rationalize that there are certain novel situations that recquire new ideas. That shunning previous knowledge may be a better idea. Regardless of the scenario, its up to the individual to decide whether they will chose to make their decisions based on previous data or they will act as they please. This may or may not be effective, but in the majority of the situations, even if one wanted to deviate from what was done in the past, the individual will have to observe what was done in order to act differently. So, in a sense, it's impossible to escape from the past.

Our culture values those with knowledge and experience. History is taught in every level of education, and some of us learn the concept of learning from our mistakes. Given how rational humans are, its imperative for us to utilize the lessons from the past to better in the future. This certainly applies to leaders who want to be successful in their positions of leadership.