The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"Jazz music is extremely popular in the city of Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer, and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight. Also, a number of well-known jazz musicians own homes in Monroe. Nevertheless, the nearest jazz club is over an hour away. Given the popularity of jazz in Monroe and a recent nationwide study indicating that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment, we predict that our new jazz music club in Monroe will be a tremendously profitable enterprise."

The developers in the application written for a small-business loan argues about opening new jazz music club in the city of Monroe. As jazz music is extremely popular in the city. The author cites reason such as Jazz Nightly radio program is the highest rated radio program and the people loving jazz music in the Monroe spends close to 1000 dollars per year. However, the argument presented by the developers is based on many assumptions and faulty reasoning hence, there is a possibility that the new club may not be a profitable enterprise.

Firstly, the author says that the people of Monroe love jazz music but it may also possible that they like outdoor sporting or watching movies more than jazz music. The priority of the people can not be known without any data and survey that, what they like most? The people might prefer to spend their free time by watching sports in their home rather going out in jazz music club. The claim that over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer can be easily debunked as there might be a large number of people from outside the Monroe. The people all around Monroe may have attended the festival. It is also possible that people had vacation in the last summer hence, there was large number of people in the festival.

Secondly, The author contends that the highest rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly'. However, there is no data that how many people hear this radio program and in regular basis. There are number of well-known jazz musicians own homes in Monroe, this may be due to lower price of property in Monroe. Additionally, there is no guarantee that new jazz music club will be profitable as there may be number of jazz music club already present in Monroe city.

Thirdly, according to the information provided in the argument the fan of jazz music spends close to $1000 per year on jazz entertainment. However, the people spending amount can not make sure that the new jazz music club will be profitable. As, the fans may prefer to hear the jazz music by some other medium rather than going physically to the club. Nowadays, there is a digital music so, anyone can just sit in his home and listen to his favourite music.

To sum up, the argument provided by the developers has number of loop holes. There is lack of data, evidences and surveys to ensure that new jazz music club in Monroe will be a profitable enterprise. The author could have considered above assumptions and facts in order to make his argument more sound.