Essay topic 29: Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Industrialization of human society, establishment of factors and fast growth of population have caused numerous effects on ecosystems and species survival. Thus, society is responsible for conserving the ecosystems and species as far as society’s activities have threatened the life of species as part of the ecosystem.

Firstly, ecosystem embodies various species and plants which are interdependent. If a part of this chain is missed, the other part will suffer as well. In other words, the extinction of one species may cause the extinction of others; therefore, the protection of one species will save the underlying life chain of the ecosystem. For instance, some birds predate fishes to supply their nutrition. Accordingly fishes are fed by under marine creatures, plants, etc. If the fishes expose to the verge of extinction, birds cannot survive either and this chain subsequently continues. In addition, many human activities are connected with the technology and industry improvement. To establish countless factories, humans have had to inevitably occupy some habitats of species. Hence, some species moved to various environments while environmental changes threatened their life by encountering predators or insufficient food and in some cases contaminated surrounding. Another example of this case is global warming which highly increased the earth temperature so that glaciers have already begun melting and polar bears and other species have lost their habitat and food supplies.

On the other hand, some may argue that conserving the endangered species requires various costly processes. First, the authorities must hire body of experts and environments to securitize the underlying reasons behind the extinction and the reliable conservation procedures. Large number of people should involve and monitor the saving progress to implementing the conservation plans. If such a protection plan is widely executed. Excessive expenses are required to cover all financial aspects of the plan. As a result, abandoning saving endangered species is reasonable.

In conclusion, society should conserve the ecosystem to save endangered species due to human activities like constructing factors, population growth, etc. The ecosystem is interconnected and loss in one area results in loss in other areas as well. However, the conservation plan will be financially burdensome.