'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The given argument, albeit sounds logical, has many hidden flaws. By throwing more light on the issue, it is easy to see that the argument suffers several grave fallacies in its assumption as well as commits a false analogy. Before any final decisions could be taken, much work is left for the arguer to make his/ her argument more logical and cogent.

it has been stated that, in the past one year, late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. As a result of which, many residents have given a complaint. Maybe, people who reach home late might want to know about the happenings around them rather than at the world wide level. For instance, in earlier days, many people come home early from work as most of them would either be in the teaching profession or in jobs involving agriculture. With the advent of technology and the communications getting broader, people tend to work in shifts which require them to work late hours. Social media, especially television should work upon to satisfy their needs. people, in general, are not ready to accept a change in their everyday routine. Human mind is tuned in such a way that any kind of deviation from the normal takes time to come back to the routine self. The same could have been the case here.

Further, the number of consumer complaints have not been stated clearly. The people who gave complaints could be very less, in case of which the reasoning might not be powerful. A proper survey must be taken among the residents to come out with the clear picture of whether the changes in the timings do affect the people or not. also, it is given that most of the complaints related to station's coverage of weather and local news which proves tacitly that there are many other major concerns.

Moreover, the business manager is of the view that, local businesses that used to advertise during late night news program have canceled their advertising contracts. But the specific reason behind this is not known. this could just be a coincidence between the two incidences mentioned in the passage. The advertising company could have canceled due to the reason that some other media could have provided them with surplus amount for their advertisements.

The concluding remarks given regarding the steps taken to resolve the problem does not seem to be plausible. The viewers, who were used to the everyday occurence of the show may not be in a position to accept the sudden change. also, there is a possibility that with the passage of time, they might start liking the current trend of showing the news at the national level.

In a nutshell, the points can be reiterated that, without proof, any decisions taken could be futile. First, proper responses from the locals should be collected and the reason behind the loss of advertising contracts be identified. Based on various parameters, the late night shows could be telecast which instead of focussing on the various aspects of news could cover programs which are interesting to the watching lot.