Some people believe that the purpose of education is to free the mind and the spirit. Others believe that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

An education system forms the backbone of the success of an individual which if utilised properly could lead to magnificient results. Knowledge is not only derived through education but also through experience. according to the famous saying "All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy", if an activity is monotonously carried out, it would only restrain the mind. Allow the mind to relax and great things could be expected out of it.

In the beginning, there were gurukuls where students acquired a wide range of learning from the sages through teaching and practising. A classroom environment was completely missing and the children learnt many things from their surroundings. As an example, consider the practise given to Bhima to shoot a fruit on the tree using his bow and arrow. The sage advised him to concentrate only on the fruit and to neglect the surroundings. This kind of an education, when given by means of practical demonstrations could not only make the person thorough with the subject but also enable to enhance the skills. such type of skills are totally missing nowadays.

One can witness a formal education pattern where a systematic curriculum is being followed and evaluation done on that basis. many schools offer only a book based learning which could make a child stressful. Moreover, for other activities, parents may have to resort to training institutes offering extra curricular activities. relaxation measures are nullified to a great extent.

Thus, it is the sole responsibility of the management and the government to provide a wide range of courses within the curriculum offering leisure activities for reducing mental tension. A stereotyped curriculum could only lead to a kid being tortured. Often, we come across news about young children committing suicides. The reason is that they are not made known the fact about life. education is not merely memorizing stuffs and answering in the exam. it is all about a person being able to face the challenges that he is going to meet in his life. Preparing in such a way is possible only by teaching them the lessons of life for the future.

Altogether, it could be concluded that for a person to move ahead in life by facing the challenges that await him in the near future, he should get an education that imparts life values and not a stereotyped curriculum. In such a case, he would not get stressed and would be able to live a healthy and peaceful life in accordance with the other members of the society.