Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

governance and laws were made for the people in order to get benefited. In olden days, during the rule of kings, laws were meant to be useful for the royal family. To enjoy the luxuries, kings used laws in such a way that those of the inferior rank were degraded. A better government has been set up so that people could lead a peaceful life. Imagine the pitiable state of women had the sati act not been passed? we would have witnessed putting an end to their life at a very young age. most of the problems faced by people in the society has a solution owing to the rules and regulations of the government. keeping in mind the safety of passengers, rules enforcing the use of helmet and seatbelts are being laid down. At the same time, efforts are taken to make india a green nation by stressing the importance of keeping the city clean and litter free. However, there aren't laws for each and every need of the society. For instance, there is no law emphasising the need to save water. it is the sole responsibility of an individual to make sure that he doesnt waste water. According to the words of William Wordsworth " water, water everywhere but not a drop to drink" people of india are truly in need of an abundant water supply. Eventhough no laws have been formed for this purpose, it is the duty of every citizen to abide by it snd save the most useful resource of the world. In addition to the above, there are many problems faced by the people which cold not be enforced in the name of laws. so, instead of waiting for a judgement to be passed, ensure that we make use of the best facilities available to us rather that forcing things through laws. A nation's biggest strength are the people living in it. Hence, they should strive hard to preserve the flora and fauna. In order to conclude, I use the fact that many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system and the reason behind it is that we cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds. Moreover, a solution to the problem is achieved through self cautiousness instead of somebody else forcing or thrusting upon us.