The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

society comprises of people belonging to the same or different communities gathered together to mingle as one family for diverse purposes. Every society chooses its leader for the effective organisation. Some societies choose their leader based on elections. I partially agree to the given issue since leaders are chosen only by majority voting. So a society's head need not symbolise the character of the people belonging to it.

When we consider the Indian society as a whole, people of diverse caste, creed, language and sect can be found. While choosing a proper leader for the nation, people in northern part of the country voted for the ruling party whereas people belonging to the southern part voted for the opposition party. Using this fact, it cannot be concluded that the character of the leader personifies the character of the people in the society.

A role model or a hero can only act as a mediator for fulfilling the needs of an individual which is not permanent. Also, for a person holding a high position in the society, there is a greater chance for him/ her to betray the people for the sake of money. Moreover, they might become corrupt. In such a case, it is not logically relevant to decide the character of people based on their role models or heroes. Thus

, it can be concluded that, the character of an individual is bound to change depending on the environment and his position. deciding the character based on a leader is not relevant. At the same time, it is a foolish act.