"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The given argument, albeit sounds logical, has many hidden flaws. By throwing more light on the issue, it is easy to see that the argument suffers several grave fallacies in its assumption as well as commits a false analogy. Before any final decisions could be taken, much work is left for the arguer to make his/ her argument more logical and cogent. Just by means of advertisement, companies cannot expect fruitful results which could be noticed as a serious flaw since well established firms don't rely completely on advertising.

The report indicates that fewer people attended Super Screen - produced movies in the recent past in comparison to previous years. but the nature and extent of the graveness of the problem is not mentioned in the passage. there could be many reasons behind the lesser number of viewers and hence a detailed study should be undertaken in order the analyze the argument. one of the reason could be poor infrastructure. Maybe the company does not maintain its theatres in a good condition or that people find it hygeinically poor. What if there were many complaints regarding this issue and no steps taken in order to correct it? if such problem existed, then there will surely be a decline in the number of people, as infrastructure could be the first and foremost reason to visit any place. Another reason could be the hike in the ticket price which the common man might find difficult to spend for an entertainment purpose.

Further, there is a mention regarding the percentage of positive reviews and that there is a significant raise in the past year. any statistical information provided could be taken as a correct measure only if the number is mentioned rather than percentages or proportions.What if only five members have written a positive review out of six or seven? then the percentage will indicate as high eventhough, say for example, the number of viewers are more than hundreds or thousands. then the validity of the arguments remains questioned.

Moreover, one of the reason behind less viewing is given as the reviews being not reachable. there could be two questions that arises. if only less people give reviews, then will be be effective? Also, if in the past the reviews rached them, why not in the recent years? Using this, the conclusion that they are arriving at is that eventhough the problem does not lie with the quality of movies, it is due to the fact that public is lacking the required awareness. but, it should be carefully noted that, if movies are really good, then the public will spread the news like fire. As a result of this, reviews and awareness will prove to be futile in such cases.

The concluding statement of allocating budgets for geater advertising could prove to be insignificant if proper measures are not taken in order to find out the real reason behind less viewers. A survey could be taken or a questionnaire can be prepared and given to the local residents and thus the real reason could be found and appropriate action takrn instaed of wasting money which may prove to be useless.