"The Fern County Council made the right decision when it unanimously voted to convert the Northside branch of the county library system into a computer-skills training facility for public use. The converted facility will fill what is certain, based on national trends, to be a growing need among county residents for training in computer skills. And since our library system boasts more volumes per resident than any other system in the state, the remaining branches will adequately serve the future needs of Fern County residents."

Discuss what evidence you would need to properly evaluate the argument, and explain how that evidence might strengthen or weaken the argument.

The argument mentioned here, albeit sounds logical, has innumerable hidden flaws. By throwing more light on the issue, it's easy to see that the issue suffers many grave fallacies in its assumption as well as commits a false analogy. Before any final decisions could be taken, much work is left for the arguer to make his/ her argument more logical and cogent.

it is stated that the fern county council made the right decision when it unanimously voted to convert the Northside branch of the county library system into a computer-skills training facility for public use. without knowing the outcome of a decision, it is not right to provide judgement on a fact, since the dearth of enough details allows us to be skeptical about the given argument. Only after adopting a scheme and making it to run for several days or months could suffice a council with a better knowledge of the outcome regarding its correctness.

Further, based on the given assumption that training in computer skills is a growing need among county residents, many questions crop up which needs to be answered. Was any survey or questionnaire taken which emphasized the need of the people to have computer knowledge? are the individuals in that part of the state really lack the computer skills? if so, does the city comprise of myriad number of youngsters rather than senior citizens and kids who might not require such training? also, adequate information is not provided regarding the training centers in that part of the state which could make the offer less competent.

In addition to the above statements, we are detailed that, since their library system boasts more volumes per resident than any other system in the state, the remaining branches will adequately serve the future needs of fern county residents. However, there is a lack of adequate information regarding the usage of library by the residents. For if, they were comfortable with the rich source of information from the library, they might not welcome the idea of converting a part of the library system into computer skills training facility. also, the large volumes of books need not get accommodated as part of it will be used for the training program.

In a nutshell, the above facts could be reiterated that the idea, though looks plausible, need not be a beneficial one if the people were accustomed to the usage of library on a huge scale. Nevertheless, if many centers are already present to train the men and women on computer-based skills, then the new idea could prove futile. Hence, without proper access to minor details and people’s expectation, there is a possibility of the decision to prove as non – beneficiary.