The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulty obtaining reliable supplies of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our popular alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. Given the outcry from our customers when we discontinued this product and the fact that none of our competitors offers a comparable product, we can expect pent-up consumer demand for our alpaca coats. Due to this demand and the overall increase in clothing prices, we can predict that Sartorian's alpaca overcoats will be more profitable than ever before."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The given argument has lots of loose ends woven together to claim the fact about the profit that could be earned through Sartorians alpaca overcoats.there are many questions that could be raised and answered to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable.In order to check the prediction, a brief study on the given argument is made in the following paragraphs.

First of all, the author talks about an issue which took place almost 5 years ago and whose solution for revival is also presented. but the underlying cause is not mentioned clearly. it is only stated that there was a difficulty of obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric as a result of which the production of alpaca overcoat discontinued. Why not the overcoat that was produced from the regular supplier discontinued? What could be the exact reason behind it? if the solution was known, then a possible remedy could have been suggested since the overcoat was popular during that period after the production from the regular supplies.

Secondly, it has been stated that the production could be resumed due to the identification of a new fabric supplier. but, is there a 100% guarantee that the quality would match with the once popular alpaca overcoat? The indication of the outcry from customers and that none of their competitors offer a comparable product cannot result in the consumer demand and profitability. The reason behind them is that, whatever was applicable 5 years back need not be applicable in the current scenario. moreover, with the passage of years, the craze for the overcoat could have subsided. A survey should be taken before arriving at proper conclusions. if the same proportion of people who had purchased the overcoat are willing to buy the product even after 5 years, then with much hope more number of the products could be manufactured and released and better profits could be estimated . however, if the customers are not satisfied with the quality of the new product, then it will only lead to the downfall of the men's clothing manufacturing industry.

In the last line the author addresses the increase in clothing price as a benefactor. however, if the same set of customers who purchased the coat are to buy again, they will surely not be happy about the increase in price even though the product is getting released after the lapse of 5 years.

Thus, we can end that whatever reasons the author addresses as a profitable ones really undermines the validity of the argument.A time span of 5 years could have resulted in enormous changes like the people, their behavioural pattern, cost of living, way of living and many other factors. An outdated product, although popular few years back, cannot fully assure us of its revival in the same magnificent way. moreover, profitability depends on a person's outlook to a particular commodity. since it had lost its reputation years back, it is difficult to expect the same level of demand from the human beings who always have a tendency to change and try for new innovations.