Leaders are created by the demands that are placed on them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or

might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A leader is not someone who lands on to a team in a parachute and master his leadership skills overnight. A leader is built

from the scratch from his early childhood when he identifies his kindred. Leaders will be molded based on each and every experience

they go through during their life. The prompt states that leaders are created by the demands placed on them. As per my opinion

I strongly agree with this argument due to the following two reasons.

Even when you are a child, if someone assigns you with a task it becomes your responsibility. It falls completely onto your hands.

Thus, assigned responsibilities will create strong personalities who will one day be responsible persons, even when there's no one

for him to shadow. For an instance take the eldest child of a family of four children. Even though the eldest is just 7 years old, she might

be the child to whom mother will assign all responsible tasks at home. Regardless of her age, she will effortlessly become

the caretaker of her younger siblings. She will be the leader of the pack anywhere - maybe at playground - maybe at home. As per research,

most children with younger siblings will be responsible students at school who will easily lead their mates at any given task.

This doesn't limit only to children - the phenomenon is the same even for adults. Any person who is assigned with responsibilities and

tasks for some time will eventually master the tasks and even without their knowledge will start pragmatically applying the skills developed through the tasks. Such a person will stand out when compared with a team and will lead the team as part of his natural behavior.

Moreover, any activity that a person perform throughout his life will add value (positive or negative) that will shape the person's

personality. For an example consider a teacher who starts her career teaching few subjects at a school. If the teacher spends the whole time at school just teaching only the curriculum, she will not be aware of any other activities taking place around her. Take an instance where the same teacher is assigned with activities that involve extra-curricular activities with children or any organizational tasks related to school events, she will get to know in and out of the processes at the school. Will get to know more people from different sections of the school. Only such a teacher will pursue her career to lead the school - to become the principal of the school. The tasks that she mastered as a ground level employee will arm her with the skills and knowledge required to lead the school community. This phenomenon applies both in positive and negative improvements of a person. If a person is enriched with negative activities such as delivering drugs and conducting robberies, he will master those activities and lead the respective community. From world history, we can find solid examples for this phenomenon. Mahatma Gandhi, Adolf Hitler and Che Guerra are few of them from the well known list of leaders who were built upon the requests placed on them by the people who rallied behind.

Regardless of the above points, someone would argue that a person can become a leader when he comprises of the required theoretical

knowledge. I believe this is not true since it is not only the theory that shape a person's personality. To lead a group, one should

understand his subordinates. Should understand their thinking process. Should understand how to treat each and everyone in their unique

way. This cannot be mastered with theoretical knowledge alone. In conclusion, as explained above, a leader is a product of the tasks placed on him throughout his life.