The following appeared as a letter to the editor of a national newspaper Your recent article on corporate downsizing in Elthyria maintains that the majority of competent workers who have lost jobs as a result of downsizing face serious economic hardship o

In the letter to the editor of the national newspaper, the author concludes that the editor claims that the majority of competent workers who have their jobs due to corporate downsizing in Elthyria, face economic hardship before finding a new job is undermined by a recent report on the Elthyria economy. According to this report, during recent years, more jobs have been created than eliminated, resulting in the lowest possible unemployment rate. Moreover, more than two-thirds of these jobs are full-time and are in industries that tend to pay above-average wages. Nonetheless, while the conclusion drawn by the writer might hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. Thus, the author must provide the following three pieces of evidence.

First of all, the author assumes that all the workers are able to find a job as soon as they have been expelled or have resigned from their previous job. It is probable that despite the high job opportunities that have been created in recent years, those who have been expelled are not able to find a new jobs. The low rate of unemployment might stem from the noticeable gap between the employed group and fired employees or workers' group, but still, those who have lost their jobs are not among the former group while they are a member of the latter group. Accordingly, the higher wages in newly created jobs have no impact on improving the economic status of these workers. If this scenario has merit, the author's assertions that the workers can find a job immediately after leaving their previous job and the low rate of unemployment casts doubt on the editor's claim that unemployed workers face difficulties before finding a new job are significantly hampered.

Secondly, the corporations that have fired some of their workers and job opportunities that have been created in recent years might work in a completely different world. For instance, a dairy factory downsized half of its workers, but there have been created thousands of job positions for programmers during the last few years. A technician or a worker who majors in working with devices has no experience in programming. So he or she has to wait for some years to find a suitable job position that is consistent with his or her abilities. Thus, the author must provide evidence regarding the field of operation of corporations that have reduced the number of their workers and the area in which the newly created jobs are operating or need employees and workers. The argument does not hold water if the above is true.

Finally, the author did not provide any evidence about the authenticity of the report based on which he or she claims that many jobs have been created and the unemployment rate has been reduced. It is possible that this report is fabricated or presents misinformation for one reason or another. If the author cannot approve the authenticity of the report, the credibility of the author's claim decreases substantially.

To recapitulate, it is possible that the report based on which the author reaches his or her conclusion is concrete, and unemployed workers do not confront any economic hardship after leaving their last job until finding a new job. Nevertheless, as it stands now, the argument relies on three groundless assumptions. Therefore, the writer must provide additional evidence, three of which are mentioned above.