The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of a company that specializes in the delivery of heating oil.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season, that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we can safely predict that this region will experience an increased demand for heating oil during the next five years."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the above argument, the author predicts that the Northwestern United States will experience an increased demand for heating oil. The author’s argument is based upon the premise that the weather forecast predicted that in upcoming years those regions will be below temperature and people in those regions traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. However, before evaluating the author’s argument three unstated assumptions must be answered.

Firstly, the author argues that most of the people in the northeastern region traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. The author does not provide any justifiable evidence about his prediction of his that in the future they will do so. Maybe in the future, they will stop using oil as their major fuel for heating. Perhaps technological development will introduce highly sophisticated technologies, which can be used more easily for heating. Maybe people will use a newly developed heater instead of oil. There is a possibility that oil will be too expensive to use for heating. Perhaps in the future, the northwestern part of the united will face an economic backslash resulting increasing the oil price. Then, most people may not able to afford oil as their main fuel for heating. If anyone of the above scenarios is true then the author’s argument holds no water.

Secondly, the author argues that in the next five years the people in the northeastern region will experience cold with below temperatures upon the basis of a weather forecast. Weather is an ephemeral entity, which may alter at every moment. There is a possibility that in the recent future people may not experience below the temperature at all. There is a possibility that due to global warming the average temperature of the earth may increase in the next five years. Then people may not have to use oil as their main fuel for heating. Even if it is not the case, making a prediction about the next five years based on a single weather forecast is dubious to some degree. Maybe a recent technological development may help to gain some how systematic statistical data, which may help to predict the weather conditions more correctly. In that case, the weather forecast may alter. If any one of the above conditions is true, then the author’s argument is built unreliably.

Thirdly, since a recent population growth led to the construction of many new buildings in that area, the author argues that people in that building still want to follow the old traditional ways of heating. Maybe people will not prefer the method. Maybe the new homes will be installed with new technology that can be easily used as a heater without oil. Then, people may not have the penchant for using old techniques. Maybe a recent environmental survey release a statement about the pollution caused by the heater. Then people may not be want to use the old ways of using oil as the main fuel for heating. Maybe in the future people will be more predilected to switch to the electric powered heater. If any one of the above scenarios is true then the author’s argument is seriously unwarranted.

In the conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence(perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed argument that during the next five years the region will experience an increased demand for heating oil during the next five years.