The following appeared in a business magazine.

"As a result of numerous complaints of dizziness and nausea on the part of consumers of Promofoods tuna, the company requested that eight million cans of its tuna be returned for testing. Promofoods concluded that the canned tuna did not, after all, pose a health risk. This conclusion is based on tests performed on samples of the recalled cans by chemists from Promofoods; the chemists found that of the eight food chemicals most commonly blamed for causing symptoms of dizziness and nausea, five were not found in any of the tested cans. The chemists did find small amounts of the three remaining suspected chemicals but pointed out that these occur naturally in all canned foods."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether the conclusion and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to the questions would help to evaluate the conclusion.

In the above magazine, the author argues that dizziness and nausea of consumers are not caused by the Promo food tuna. The author supports his argument on the basis of the test result, which concludes that five of eight food chemicals, which are most commonly blamed for causing dizziness and nausea were not found in the tuna cans. Furthermore, the author strengthens his argument by the test results, which show three remaining suspected chemicals for dizziness occur naturally in all canned foods. However, before evaluating the author’s argument three questions need to be answered.

Firstly, the author argues that the canned tuna did not pose a health risk, since chemists from promo food did not find any baleful materials in the tuna cans. One reader may raise questions about the other factors of maintaining the cans. Perhaps the tuna cans in the stores are poorly preserved. Maybe they sold the cans, which were past their expiry dates. Then, examining the materials in the tuna cans will not solve the problem. Maybe the poorly preserved tuna cans caused the damage. If, the above scenario is true then, the author's conclusion holds no water. If, the author is able to offer more admissible evidence perhaps in the form of a survey of each store, then, the author’s argument is credible to a certain extent.

Secondly, the author argues that five of 8 blight materials were not present in the tuna cans. One may raise questions about the authenticity of the results. Maybe there are other chemicals, which are used for enhancing the taste of tuna in the tuna can. Even if this is not the case, the cans were tested by the chemists of the Promo food tuna. There is a possibility that they may give a biased opinion or they may alter the taste results in order to avert the blame of their company. If any one of the above scenarios is true then the author’s argument is built unreliably. The author did not provide any veritable evidence regarding the testing of the tuna cans. If the author is able to provide more evidence, perhaps in the form of a generalised study of the tuna cans, then it will be possible to evaluate the author’s argument.

Thirdly, the author argues that 3 of 8 harmful materials were present in the tuna cans, but these occur naturally in all canned foods. Is it okay to use a circumstance from one thing to predict and generalised the other? In other words, is it okay to compare all the can foods? Maybe tuna cans cannot be similar to other can foods. There is a possibility that in a recent food survey, the government strictly prohibited the use of 3 remaining substances, which were found in the tuna cans, then one cannot argues that these three substances will pose a minor threat to health issues. Maybe these three substances are more pernicious than the other 5 substances in order to cause dizziness and nausea the above scenario is true, then, the author's claim is seriously weakened. If the author is able to provide more evidence in a form of a research study about canned food then, it will be feasible to evaluate the author's reliability of the arguments.

In the conclusion, the author’s argument stands now is seriously weakened due to its reliance on several assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study) then, it is possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation that the Promo food tuna not be blamed for the customers' dizziness and nausea.