When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Over the past decade, human life has been improved in all directions due to technological developments. As a result, in the present day, most humans live in modernized buildings, which are much more advanced and sophisticated than the earlier generation’s buildings. Sometimes people often oscillate between the preservations and reconstruction. The above prompt sets about that modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of the historical buildings. While I concede that preserving the historical building is important, in my opinion, I mostly agree with the prompt that, giving importance to the modernization rather than preserving the historic building for two reasons.

To begin, humans should focus on modernizing the old. In other words, to develop it is necessary to reconstruct the old buildings and adopt the modernizations. For example, most of the buildings in the metropolitan area of Plainville town are more than 50 years old and are currently uninhabitable for living. In addition, the builds can not be used for any other purposes. If, a planner wants to reconstruct new buildings then, the place will not be wasted. Many residents will be able to live there, ultimately it will be lucrative for the city in various ways, such as the tax revenue will be increased and the place will be used for lucrative purposes. The above example illustrates that utilizing the old places is sometimes remunerative for everybody. Preserving historic buildings, which are useless or do not have purposes is not a very good idea.

Furthermore, preserving historical buildings with very paltry significance is sometimes not a very profitable idea. Certain buildings may have historical significance but they are very subtle or there are many buildings with similar significance, then utilizing those buildings for modern purposes is a more valuable idea. For instance, In India, there are many prehistoric buildings are from 1700-1800, when the British reign was instituted. Currently, those buildings are too fragile to repair and most of them are uninhabitable. Though they are prehistoric buildings, their historical significance is too little. Thus, instead of preserving them, if a planner constructs several projects regarding the modernization of those places, then those places will be properly utilized. The above example demonstrates that, though the historical significance is important to a certain extent, wasting such places rather than utilizing them for the greater good is perhaps a more suitable idea.

However, some historic buildings are too imperative to preserve, in other words, some buildings are too historically significant to use for modernization. For example, the house of the great piano player Felix Mendelssohn. Her house is too indispensable for modernization. Then, preserving her house has historical significance such as we can learn about a great person and people inspired by her. The government made a museum around her house. The above example shows that not all historic buildings can be used for modernization. Preserving historic buildings somehow reminds us of great achievements or our glorious past. Thus using them for development somehow seems preposterous.

Despite these reasons, preserving the old historic buildings does have its merits such as accommodating people with the knowledge of rich historic culture, preserving bonds with our ancestors, etc, but such advantages are overshadowed by the potential disadvantages, which are much more severe in nature. Thus modernizing all historic building are not advised but preserving historic building dependent on their historical values is more suitable.