In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Answer-

Any situation in life can have different points of view depending upon the way of interpretation of its observer. From an optimistic point of view, a glass may be half full but from a pessimistic point of view, the glass is half empty. Any observer’s interpretation of any situation completely depends upon several complex factors like past experiences, present conditions, and many other yet unthought factors. In the above prompt people’s opinions should be taken seriously as a valuable contribution to the progress, even though, they contrast the situation. In my opinion, I mostly agree that in order to be making progress, the people’s contrasting points of view should be taken seriously for three reasons,

To begin, contrasting past experiences, should be considered before making decisions. It helps to make better analyses and predict the different aspects of the ramifications of the situations.

For instance, in a recent board meeting about shifting the nation’s energy source from natural-based energy to nuclear power plants, many political pundits suggested that it will bring a malignant effect on their nations. Though in the present-day world, the nuclear power plant is most of the first world country’s main source of energy, the Chornobyl disaster is not unbeknown to anyone and many more nuclear disaster was recorded during the past decade. This example illustrates that sometimes analyzing contrasting views may help to make better decisions. Contrasting opinions from a veteran may sometimes help to analyze situations more correctly since people with more experience have more points of view and they had faced the problems concerning with after-effects of the decision. If one assumes that contrasting points of view are only inhibited progress and chose to ignore the portends, then they will do so at their own peril.

Furthermore, considering people’s ideas from both points of view is a comparatively better idea. In the democratic world, people's opinions matter. Before making decisions about something, people’s points of view should be taken into account since, after all, they are the backbone of some democracy, and mostly they will face problems on a regular basis if anything happens in the future because of the implementation of the decision. For instance, bad traffic jams caused more than 300 accidents over the past year. The government decided to add an extra lane to reduce the traffic jam without taking any advice from the people. In this scenario, people may be more aware of the real situation regarding the traffics in the city. Maybe according to the people bad traffic rules and poor road conditions are the main cause for the most of the accidents. They also reported that punishment for flouting traffic rules is skimpy. Thus adding an extra lane may not help in the future. This example illustrates that people's opinion matters since they face real-life situations and know more about the problem on daily basis. Listening to people’s opinions may be better to make decisions about something, that after all the decision will help the people in the future. Thus ignoring people’s opinions about some present-day situations will not be a very good idea.

In the conclusion, people’s contrasting opinions on every situation are very complex and convoluted matters. Which opinion is helpful and which is not depends on several factors. This may be very difficult to conclude, whether people contacting opinions should be taken into account.