The following appeared in a memo from the vice president

of a company that builds shopping malls around the country.

"The surface of a section of Route 101, paved just two years

ago by Good Intentions Roadways, is now badly cracked

with a number of dangerous potholes. In another part of the

state, a section of Route 40, paved by Appian Roadways

more than four years ago, is still in good condition. In a

demonstration of their continuing commitment to quality,

Appian Roadways recently purchased state-of-the-art paving

machinery and hired a new quality-control manager.

Therefore, I recommend hiring Appian Roadways to

construct the access roads for all our new shopping malls. I

predict that our Appian access roads will not have to be

repaired for at least four years."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo, the vice president of a company recommends hiring Appian Roadway to build their access roads for their shopping malls. He predicts that using Appian access roads, they won’t need any repairs for at least four years. To justify his claims, he compares the two sections of Routs paved by Appian and Good Intentions Roadway companies during two different time periods. The author makes some unwarranted assumptions that render the argument highly suspected. He needs to answer some questions to be able to write a convincing argument.

First of all, the vice president compares the surface of a section of Route 101 with a section of Route 40 in another part of the state. Are these two Routs comparable? What is the circumstance of each Rout’s terrain? Are they hilly or straight? How is the weather in each part of the state? What is the location of these Rout? It’s possible that the section of the Route 40 is located in a less crowded region that has fewer commuting cars or high-weight trucks. In this case, this route would remain in a good condition. Other factors are responsible for a Rout to remain flawless. Bad weather conditions, heavy snow, would cause a route to losing its great condition. Without answering these questions, the author cannot blame Good Intentions Roadway company for their work, and the argument will be unsound.

Moreover, the author compares the two Routs in the two different time periods. Do Good Intentions Roadways have the same appliances and number of laborers as two years ago? Likely, they have improved their machinery and hired new and capable laborers which lead to an outstanding outcome. The author should examine the current condition of Good Intentions Roadways, not its facilities in two years ago. Therefore, the vice president should answer the questions regarding the current condition of Good Intentions Roadways to have better comparison and reach a more logical recommendation.

Finally, the author mentions that Appian Roadways have bought a state-of-the-art paving

machinery and hired a new quality-control manager. Is this new machinery useful for the construction of the new shopping malls access roads? Is the new quality-control manager professional and well-experienced? Perhaps, the newly purchased paving machinery and the quality-control manager would not benefit the shopping malls’ access roads. The vise president should take into consideration that whether this new employee or machinery is matched with their company’s goal or not. Answering these questions will strengthen the argument more.

All in all, the argument, as it stands now, is flawed due to the considerable lack of concrete evidence. The vice president should answer the pointed questions to be able to write an argument that could convince the readers.