Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain y

A Government is a system or group of people governing an organized community, often a state. Government is a means by which organizational policies are enforced as well as a mechanism for determining policy. Maintaining peace and welfare of the people is the fundamental purpose of the Government. It is important that the Government of a country deal with its immediate problems that is plaguing its nation instead of far-fetched imaginary that might or might not occur in future.

To begin with, right now our nation is beleaguered by terrorist activities. The recent heinous attack in Pulwama, Kashmir, is one such example. It is heart-wrenching to see our soldiers dying in insidious, suicide attacks by terrorists and not even getting a chance to defend themselves. They were ambushed in the middle of the night, caught in their most unguarded state. It is the responsibility of the Government to take appropriate security measures much before, given this is not the first attack on our soldiers and our nation. Instead of putting focus and splurging crores on upcoming election developments, the Government needs to utilize its power and resources to bolster the armed forces in combating and preventing any such further attacks on the Nation and especially preventing a nuclear war between the two nations.

Additionally there are economic problems, that our Government is facing currently. No longer can India be called the fastest growing economy. Infact, the economy has been made to come to this stage by the actions of the Government itself, in its over-ambitious, anticipated demonetization experiment conducted on Indian citizens to get rid of black money. No intellectuals to date had supported this and lampooned its adverse impact on small, medium and unorganized sectors of society. Instead of putting India through this unnecessary ordeal the Government needs to focus on current unattended problems like poverty, illiteracy, crime against women and children, minorities, and health problems, and last but not the least is the problem of climate change. The country isn't in a very good position as compared to other countries in these aspects.

To sum up, India is still fraught with myriad social problems and issues which hinder its progress. As far as social developments are concerned India is one of the lowest ranked countries of the world. India's Human Development Index rank 2013 is 135 out of 187 countries of the world. Thus, the Government first needs to address these looming, entrenched hurdles, so that the country can make conspicuous strides in fields of science, economy and technology. Solving the present problems will in turn give strength to the Government to efficiently tackle future dangers.