Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

The recommendation claims that Teachers and Professors in colleges and universities need to have experiences in professions related to their academic discipline but outside their direct academic world. This policy, if enforced, will upgrade the quality of teaching and pupils' learning experiences. Therefore, I agree with the author's claim to the extent that it doesnot hurt the teachers' and professors' interests.

To begin with, a practical experience with the outside world always gives one, more insight and helps a person in developing a more discerning eye with which they view the world. For example, a person trained in the discipline of Sociology will definitely be a great teacher if they already had experiences in dealing with societal problems firsthand. A person who has worked with Non-Governmental Organizations working on issues like education of children, gender issues, trafficking and so on, will gather much rich experiences. These people, when they later take up jobs as a professor in a university provides students with rich knowledge of these experiences.

Similarly, a person trained as a doctor and working in hospitals in the first years of their career would serve as wonderful teachers to their students. These doctor professors would impart practical, instead of only theoretical knowledge of how to diagnose a disease or how to interact with their patients, to the future doctors in the making. However, for a doctor, once they have worked in practical situations which demand great alacrity and constant skill building, might find the job of a teacher slightly boring. Imposing this policy on people like those, would then frustrate the professors rather than interest them.

To sum it up, this policy of trying to broaden the knowledge scope of teachers and professors of colleges and universities by exposing them to related professsions outside the academic world seems workable only if both students and teachers find it profiting. Otherwise, this might become an imposition on both the groups. There are people who spend their entire life trying to be a good teacher. This process involves more and more experience with teaching and dealing with students and other faculty members. Working in other professions might take away their interest in teaching and they might not return to the teaching profession ever.