The function of science is to reassure; the purpose of art is to upset. Therein lies the value of each.

Science, itself, is the greatest discovery man has made. It is a boon to our lives. Science and technology have altered the way we live, connect and communicate with each other. But science has its own downplays as well. On the other hand, to claim that art can only upset is to portray a very narrow approach to this field. The author’s recommendation therefore cannot be entirely true.

Almost everything that we see around us is a gift of science. Starting from our smartphones, laptops, tablets, iPads, microwaves, air-conditioners, refrigerators, vehicles, electricity etc. is the invention of science. Science makes our day-to-day life easier and saves time and money. It is hard to decide which is the single most valuable discovery of science, from the Copernicum System, to the theory of relativity, to the discovery of DNA, antibiotics, to the internet. The contributions of science are vast. This is one side of science. But there are negative consequences too. These include discovery of nuclear weapons, atomic bombs, indiscriminate industrialization and urbanization and many more. It is both a boon and a bane to our lives.

Art helps one to cultivate one’s aesthetic sense, to have a discernible eye. Artists give life and soul to innate objects through their creativity. Just as science promotes the development of material culture, similarly, art bears the seeds of development of non-material culture. Any developed civilization is a fruit of its art and culture and not only its scientific advancements. For example, a beautiful painting, movie, music, or dance can fill us with awe, admiration and uplift our emotional state. A person, after a hard day’s work could come home and relax while listening to Beethoven’s music or by attending a musical concert with his or her spouse. Any new science invention is not complete without an artistic touch to its final creation. Everything that we use and are a part of our living, starting from the buildings we live in, to the cars and gadgets we use are impressive creations of science but first these have to appeal to our eyes, to our senses. A laptop or car or any of the electrical appliances that we use in our daily life will not survive in the market for long if the beauty factor isn’t there.

Moreover, the purpose of art is not only to fulfil our sensuous needs, but it is an important source of livelihood to a lot of people. We have artists from all fields like singing, dancing, painting, acting, sculpting and many more who perform and worked professionally. Their artistic talents and handiwork have given them love, honor, reputation, fame, friends, connections, and economic independence. Therefore, to say that art has upset us is a mistaken belief.

However, the other side of the coin has to be considered as well. The flip side of art is when we get upset by certain creations. Such as seeing a famous photo of a child suffering from malnutrition, or photos of Auschwitz or a documentary on our independence movement.

In conclusion it can be summarized that it is true for every field, be it science or art, to have both negative and positive impacts on society. While science takes our society forward in terms of technological advancement, art is a balm that makes technology look appealing to our eyes. We cannot attribute absolute values to either one of them and praise one and ignores its adverse impacts or vice versa.