The function of science is to reassure; the purpose of art is to upset. Therein lies the value of each.

The world has grown over the last few centuries with art and science joining hands together. From the renaissance of Italy in the 14th century to the industrial age that spawned in England in the 18th to 19th century, humankind is able to cherish and enjoy the fruits from these two sectors. The statement above shows a step motherly approach to art while favoring science. I believe that value of art and science has the values of reassuring and not just science being able to the fact.

First of all, the statement states that the function of science is to reassure. The author considers science to be a boon. Science has indeed been a boon for human kind. Through science important discoveries were made that changed the face of the world. From the understanding of the phenomenon of gravity to the invention of steam engines laid foundation to the technology that changed the world in the 18th century. From the understanding of the principles of relativity to the invention of aero planes, the world was in the technological peak in the early 20th century. Maverick scientists went on further to create computers, automobiles and even sent a man to the moon. Science continues to be a boon to us in every way. Imagine the situation if automobiles were not present in this busy world? Similarly, imagine the condition wherein radical scientists didn’t push their ambition to irradiate smallpox?

However, while science has its benefits at one end of the string, one shouldn’t overlook the insecurities and convolute problems it has brought with it. The advent of the 20th century saw the world facing one of the gruesome and macabre wars in history. Science and Technology did make people to avaricious for power and money that led to the World War 1 and World War 2. The effects of these wars have not left the mind of innocent individuals who were adversely affected by it. Similarly, the age of digitalization has spawned a multimillion industry of cybernetic services which include the internet, computers, smart phones, and even the watches. These devices while providing services at one end has left our identity open to the world. The world is facing the issues of cybernetic attacks which threatening the identity of an individual.

Secondly, the author states that the purpose of art is to upset. The statement suggests that the author has some jaundice against art. Art is something that has broad meaning, and cannot be explained within a statement. Art include many forms such as books, poems, dance, music and even the movies that we enjoy at theatres. As per my view, we humans tend to enjoy every form art from time immemorial. From the plays of Shakespeare, to the poems of Robert Frost to books of Stephen king and the comics by Stan lee, we enjoy art to the maximum. When an individual looks to a type of dance performance, he or she gets captivated by the performances of talented dances. Even actors have captured over imaginations with their breathtaking performances. In art, the perofrances and the content changes accrding to the themes. Themes can vary from tragedy to comedy. These themes make us thing over the message the actors and the back screen iconoclasts are trying to show us, the people.Therefor one cannot state that te purpose of art is just to upset.

To conclude, the world has benefitted from the usage of science and art. Each of these segments have a deep impact one’s life. The statement above suggest that the purpose of science is just to reassure while art is not. I belaive that this is not true. In order to strive and prevail all the challenges put forward to us, we must embrace the values and science and art and use the benefits these wonderful sectors give us