Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

We live in a world where various scandals are reported occasionally. A scandal is a situation where shocking or immoral activities committed by individuals come to light. Various scandals occur in various spheres of profession such as education, sports, politics, and even entertainment. We live in an age where we learn from mistakes. Reformers and speakers have tried to focus our attention to various problems. However, as I said before that “We live in an age where we learn from our mistakes” I strongly agree to the fact that a scandal gets the attention and focus of a layman in a way that no reformers and conformers could.

First of all, it is a universal fact that human beings commit mistakes, irrespective of our social status. However these mistakes could have minimal or adverse effects on the lives of people. It is the human nature that we learn from our mistakes. One cannot live a life without committing an offense. For example, certain individuals are given political power by their people on the belief and faith the leaders will help their cause and improve their standards of people. A leader is someone whom the public look towards for qualities such as honesty and probity. However, it is to be understood that a leader is also a human. A scandal or offense of a small scale can diminish what he has gained through his life. However, such experiences help them to reflect themselves and be a better human and a leader. Such situations also help us in reflecting ourselves and to understand that even a leader is answerable to the almighty law. Thus, scandals help in one to understand their mistakes and learn from them to become better individuals.

Similarly on a general note, a scandal involves certain individuals to whom the general public looks into. These invdiuals have their profession ranging from politics, sports, healthcare and so on. Therefore, a scandal attracts the attention of a layman to understand the loop holes of the system in which these individuals are meant to follow than a reformer or a speaker. For instance, one of the biggest scandals to be reported in the history of cricket was the scandal of Indian Premier League, a tournament held annually in India. It came to light that one of members of the organizing committee had looted money that were worth millions of dollars. Even though reformers ad mentioned some flaws in the laws of the system set by the governing body, susbtainal changes were not bought in. Such a scandal brings disgrace to the sport and to the indivudal as well, but such situations help the lawmakers and decision makers to prevent such an atrocity in the future. Due to extensive reevaluation and checks of various laws in the system, the league is one of the successful in the cricketing world. On a similar line, Lance Armstrong was found to use medicines to increase his stamina. Hoever, the use of certain medications were considered a illegal in the world of atheletes. When the matter came to light , a complete revamp of the laws took place making athelees to comply by the rules.Therefore it is pertinent to understand that the effect of scandals in implementing the laws in various fields that help is much higher than the effect of reformers.

To conclude, scandals have attracted people to look into various issues. The world is not a perfect place and so is every human being. We tend to make mistakes. Howeve, exposing those mistakes helps us tobe a better human being.It also helps in refining the system of laws so that one does commit in the future. Scandals are effective to bring about a change in the society than the workof reformers.