The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The world invites various challenges to be solved in the current generation. As time goes on, the debate whether competition or cooperation is required to instill values like leadership to solve these daunting tasks have risen. For an individual or a company to be successful , a sense of competition and cooperation should play hand in hand to accomplish a set goal, in todays world.

First of all, a sense of competition is required for an individual to develop ones skill and achieve set goals. It is known fact that competition tends to bring the best out of an individual. This gives them the opportunity to think outside the box and come forward with ideas to accomplish a given task. For instance, prestigious competitions are held all around the world by several organizations to bring out the innovative ideas of students. Participating in these competitions challenge an individual to develop leadership qualities and take on the responsibility to accomplish a task. Even though the aim of these competitions is to win, it instills a sense of leadership and responsibility that would motivate them to become the driving force of the world. On a personal level, competition encourages an individual to come out from his comfort zone to prove that he or she is the person of the job. For instance, competitive examination require students to prepare well. This motivates the student to come out of their comfort zone to prepare creatively, plan their study method, and execute their plan and to achieve their goal. Therefore, competition instills the quality of leadership and responsibility in an individual thereby motivating him to become unique and creative.

However, the problems faced by today’s world require individuals to be equally cooperative at the same time. Pressing issues like climate change, bringing peace across nations require individuals to team up and cooperate to achieve a required goal. Just being competitive does not help in solving the problem. Cooperation enables an individual to understand the problem, helps them to interact with other people to bring the solution to the problem. It is a known fact that an individual is the source of an idea. But to effectuate the idea, he or she requires a group of individuals who share the same ambition and idea. Therefore, a sense of cooperation is required by the members of team to achieve a goal and who knows may come up with a different idea. For instance, the tech giant Apple was founded by Steve Jobs. However, to make Apple one of the best companies in the world, he required a group of talented and competitive individuals. Moreover he required their cooperation to understand each other and to survive in difficult times to bring out the products that changed the digital industry. Therefore cooperation is also required for an individual to survive in a world that invokes challenges.

Moreover, Cooperation helps an individual to understand the moral values required to achieve a goal. Just being competitive may tend an individual to turn a blind eye to various values such as work ethics which is pertinent if he or she is to grow into a leader. For instance, it is not required that an individual to have all the skill set to become a leader. Just being competitive may hinder an individual to reflect and learn values from his or her competitor that would help to become a better leader. Moreover, a sense of cooperation motivates an individuals to develop a sense of friendship and companionship with competitors that could help in tackling pressing issues.

To conclude, a sense of competitiveness and cooperation should be taken up by individuals to become a driving force in today’s world. As the world moves on and welcomes various challenges, just having one of these qualities doesn’t help to resolve the task. The world requires leaders who are boh competitive and cooperative.