Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight

The above argument is a statement in letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine. In the letter, the author emphasize that manned space flights are costly and precarious. The author further put forward the recent success stories of the unmanned space probes and satellites that have managed to glean useful information and emphasize that the costs and risks that is associated witht sending of men and women into space is eliminated. Finally, the author of the letter conclude and suggest that resources should be invested into unmanned space flights. The argument shown above , though seems to be true and correct especially with the technological advancements of the modern aeronautics industry, does not provide compelling reasons for its suggestions. Moreover, the argument is underined from several loopholes that the author does not give explanations for.

First of all, the author states that a manned space flight is costly and dangerous. The author seems to have some janudice against the sending of men and women to space. While it is a general fact that space missions are equally costly and dangerous and not all governments of this world have the ability or infrastructure to send radical men and women, the author does not provide any reason as to why manned space flight should be discontinued. Witht he development of technology, many governments, both the developed and the developing, are persistently looking methods that could make manned space missions cheaper and safer. With the exhaustive training and procedures followed by the leading space research organizers such as NASA and the Russian Space Agency, astronauts are trained to perform the mission safely and responsibly. The author does not provide any compelling reason why this world should not allow its people to continue manned space flights, nor does he give any evidence as to why these missions are costly and dangerous.

Secondly, the author states the recent success of space probes and satellites to glean and collect information as a reson to discontinue manned space travel. While the author is correct that space probles and satellites are successful in their purpose of collecting vaible data, he is wrong to consider the manned pace missions to be similar to that to sace probes and satellites. It is a known fact that manned space missions are for complex purposes that invlove more than just collecting data. While, collecting data is important, the purpose of sending radical peole is to conduct extensive reseach that could provide information such as life on other planets the habitual nature of other planets. Sending unmanned space flights for such missions cannot glean the necessary information to do so.Moreover, the author states that these satellites and space probes are cost effective and are less dangerous.In this situation, the author does not shed details or evidences as to why such missions are cheap and safe coared to manned space flight.The author should provide compelling resons for the same in order to validate the argument.

To conclude, the arguments presents the author in such a way that he treats manned space flight with jundice. Even though some arguments are presented the author do not present any solid evidence in order to prove his take on the subject.