“The study of an academic discipline alters the way we perceive the world. After studying the discipline, we see the same world as before, but with different eyes.”

Education is one of the key factors that ensures the development of an individual. I agree the fact that education helps altering the way one understands the world. Since people belong to different backgrounds and have different ways of thinking, education enables one to think in a right way by widening the way one think.

Education has played a key role in realizing some important truths throughout the course of history. For instance, it was believed that by our ancestors that the earth was flat. However, it was through literacy that maverick scientists proved that it was actually a sphere that we live in. Moreover, further advancements in the education of space reveal key aspects changed the notion of our existence.

Similarly, there have been existing practices, rituals and beliefs that are considered unconventional in today’s world. For example, the practice of sati was widely followed in India until the eighteenth century. However, daring social reformers, with the tool off education in their hands dared to oppose this practice, ultimately bringing this practice to an end. Likewise, inequality was prevalent in different parts of the world. However, these outdated thoughts were challenged by radical thinkers such as Martin Luther King and Nelson Mandela and brought about the concept of equality and freedom that proved to be beneficial to everyone in the long run.

It is also possible to understand the impact of education on the way an individual thinks. Throughout history, it can be seen how people come forward with groundbreaking ideas based on the processes happening in day to day life. For instance, the process where an apple falls from a tree is a common sight and is often neglected to be of utmost importance. However, Sir Isaac Newton had the courage and curiosity to research on this phenomena which lead him to postulate the laws of physics. Likewise, the star of the solar system, sun, is a potential use of renewable energy. However, this thought did not develop until very recently, with the help of education.

Education plays an important role inculcating responsibilities and manners, which could help in perceiving and reacting to a situation in a more efficient way. Education helps an individual to take up challenges in a positive manner. For example, the manner in which an educated individual handles and economic crisis is more efficient than an uneducated individual. Moreover, education helps an individual to take apt decisions in life.

Specializing a particular discipline does the exact same thing as education. For instance, as a mechanical engineer, an individual views a bridge or a multi storied building from the engineering point of view. Similarly, a doctor tends to view care and understand the difficulties faced by the patient.

Therefore education and specializing in a particular discipline alter the way an individual understands and receive the world. Moreover, with the course of the years education helps an individual to perceive more than it is today.