“People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.”

There is a prevailed notion that decision makers shape the world. The term “Decision maker” could imply to anyone in this world. It could refer to the leader of a country, a manager of a company to an individual at home. Decisions help to achieve a set goal. It is imperative that an individual could be a good decision maker only if he makes an understanding of the situation surrounding him and considering various aspects regarding a decision. Therefore an individual who make decisions based on emotion and justify the decision made with logic are poor decision makers.

Decision makers shape the future. The way of creating a future, is to understand the needs required to make future better. It is a known fact that every individual has emotions. However, a vital factor that people forgot is that emotions are mercurial. Therefore, relying only on emotion hinders the important factor of understanding the situation. For instance, consider a situation wherein a CEO of a company has to make a decision to improve the profits of the company as a result of huge loss in the last fiscal year. He or she must consider various factors while making a decision to increase the profits of the company. These factors include improving the working environment of the company that could lead employees to work efficiently. Moreover, introduction of incentives could bolster and employee to work efficiently. These factors are the result of using logic by understanding the needs of the people. However, instead of incorporating these factors, if the man in charge decides to abide by emotions to stringent laws such as increasing the working hours and decreasing the workforce as per the performance of an individual to increase the profits later justifying on the logic that more number of hours and lesser workforce lead to more profits, could deliver opposite results on the long run. Therefore, a good decision maker must not rely only on emotions and should understand the circumstances to make a good decision.

Similarly, when an individual has to make a decision, it should be a logical one and not based on emotion. Emotions such as anger and hatred tend individuals to react hastily and quickly thereby making the wrong decisions. For instance, there are certain circumstances wherein an employee who performs well is deprived of a promotion and is awarded to a colleague. Situations such as these tend to lower an individual’s self-esteem and could react to a situation with anger. In such cases, people who makes a decision based on emotions are poor decision makers. There are some situations wherein, an employee tends to shout or yell and decide to quit, later justifying the decision of not being awarded the promotion. In such cases, emotions tend to make an individual believe that the he or she is treated unfairly. However, a good decision maker look upon these situations as a chance to improve themselves. They respond in a measured way, understand the reason of not being awarded the promotion and work on the goal of achieving it. This results in increasing the self-esteem and confidence of the individual which can reap benefits in their career.

However, certain decisions based on emotions could be effective, if a proper understanding is given into the situation. For instance, the decision of demonetization in India was a result of an emotion that saw every Indian being developed and creating a system wherein all its citizens could have economic benefits. However, proper understanding and logic was made to make such a process a grand success.

To conclude, it could be understood that decisions should be based on emotions could not achieve a required result as emotions vary within each human being. Therefore those individual who make decisions based on emotions and justify them later on the basis of logic are poor decision makers. However, proper understanding must be taken into consideration to make a good decision .