“In the age of television, reading books is not as important as it once was. People can learn as much by watching television as they can by reading books”

We live in an age where we are submerged with the use of electronic products. There could be no other time in history where we are influenced by technology in various aspects of life. One of the game-changers was the television. Its introduction and development have led people employ these magic boxes for various activities ranging from entertainment to discovery channels to even learning. Due to its influence, various questions whether televisions can overtake books to teach people have risen up, just like the statement above. However, I disagree to these questions and the statement as Books remain to be man’s best friend.

To start with, as stated in the introduction, books were and will remain to continue to be man’s best friend. Books have influenced us since childhood. Various fairy tale stories have helped us to picture the story with our own imagination and helped us to be creative. Most importantly, these stories have helped us to inculcate certain moral values that are required in our life. For instance, reading various stories such as “Cinderella” and “Snow white”, have helped us to widen our imagination in our own way. By reading these books with the help of parents, the way the story was paced, the freshness the green fields and kingdoms have left us spellbound. Along with them were certain values required for our growth. On the other hand, the television adaptation of these stories are based on the imagination of the people behind the adaptation and have curbed the way we perceive the story. Therefore, books have played a key role than televisions to help expand ones creativity and imagination while instilling moral values.

Secondly, Books helps us focusing on a certain topic rather than a television stacked with an infinite number of programs. Books such as autobiographies help us to focus the life of a personality more thoroughly than a biopic movie. The main reason for this is the involvement of advertisements and other programs which have the tremendous potential to deviate our attention to a topic. For instance, the book based on Howard Hughes helps us to understand the life of the entrepreneur, the challenges he faced towards success , his fight against obsessive- compulsive disorder more deeply. While reading the book, one would look at the world in Howard’s shoes. Even though, the film adaptation was critically acclaimed, it fails in making us to see in Howard’s shoes and his vision. Moreover, the inclusion of various programs relating to entertainment helps us to forget the use of television to learn new things. For example, consider the fact that two programs run parallel at the same time. One program is focusing on a new study whereas its competitor is showcasing an action movie. In this situation, majority of the people falls to the program showing the movie.Therefore, televisions are considered as means of entertainment eventhough certain programs are focused on the objective of learning.

Finally, people tend to learn deeply while reading a book than watching television. Successful entrepreneurs and business magnates have contributed books to teir success. For instance, Bill Gates says that books have helped him to take important decisions in life. He even asserts the youth to invest their time in reading books as books bring the best out of them.He has even made it an habit to read atleast one hour a day to gain knowledge. Books such as “Zero-to-One” and “4-hour workweek” are among the best books that is required for an individual to learn personal traits such as compassion, cooperation and leadership skills. Watvhing Televisions does not help an individual to attain such skills that are required to the driving force in the world.

To conclude, the introduction of television have influenced us in various aspects of life. The use of television in education segment is still in its rudimentary stages.On the other hand, Books have been the source of knowledge from the begiing of time and will continue to be so as the primary source of knowledge.