The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company:

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.”

The above argument is a recommendation suggested by the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company. The argument suggests that the productivity of the employees of Acme will increase, once their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course. It has also given examples that the graduates of this course were able to perform better in their professional part of life. Moreover, it has been proposed that Acme should invest in the course since it costs $500 against its benefits. However, the proposed argument does not take into consideration the ups and downs and the feasibility of the course.

First of all, it has been put forward that the productivity of the employees of other companies have improved by a large extent by taking the Easy Read Speed- Reading Course. However, the argument fails how provide how this has been achieved. Other companies might have polished their policies regarding how their employees work which might have motivated them to work efficiently. Likewise the specialization of Acme could be different from other companies. Therefore, it cannot be stated that this course is the catalyst for increased productivity. Moreover, it has also been suggested that some of their graduates have performed well after enrolling in the course. However, it again fails in providing the success ratio of the course. Productivity heavily depends on an individual. If an individual loves the work he is entrusted with, there is a more chance that he will complete the task efficiently. Therefore, this argument regarding the success of the course on their graduates is severely undermined.

Secondly, it has been argued that the faster one reads, the more amount of information he absorbs which can lead to increased productivity. While this statement seems to be beneficial, it could actually hinder the working of an employee. It is to be understood that all individuals are different in their behavior and approach to a situation. Each individual has their own method that helps them to be more efficient. Therefore, giving them a situation such as to read faster may hinder their way of thinking, thereby resulting iin opposite than what was required.

Similarly, the recommendation also proposes the company to inn the course without thinking the feasibility of the investment. For instance, the argument provides te cost of course to be five hundred dollars. However, it has not taken into consideration the number of people Acme has employed, which could lead to potential loss to the company. Moreover, the argument fails to suggest the kind of employees that the course targets. There could be people who are not efficient as per company’s needs. Therefore, the recommendation should provide insight to these matters. Likewise, the benefits of the course are less compared to its price tag. The benefits of the course should be taken into account while proposing the argument.

The argument above weakens the recommendation proposed to the president. Investing in a course that increases the productivity of its employees in beneficial to every company and its employees, in the long run. However, the type of course, feasibility and the advantages it brings should be taken into consideration while making a decision.