"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The above argument i a memorandum stated by the businees manager of a television station.According to the memorandum, time alotted to the natonal news segment was increased at the the cost of decreased local and weather news during the late-night news program. Moreover, it has been stated that complaints received were mainly pertaining to the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition it has been stated that, several local businesses that used to advertise duruing the program had canceled their contracts with the station.The memeorandum comes with a solution to restore the tme devoted to weather and local news to its former leverl in order to avoid losing further revenues in advertising and increase in viewership. Though the solution seems to solve the issue when read through once, it has many loopholes that undemine the argument. The manager have not given a careful invetigation to the issue.

First of all, it is stated that several complaints were recieved from the viewers during the time of late- night news program.It is also stated that these were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. Howver, the arguement failss to state what the complaints of the viewers were. In oder to get a clear picture, it is imperative to understand the complaints of viewers. There are chances werein, the quality of the news bradcasted is very low. While many other news centers come out with news with relevant content and those with pressing issues , the stations coverage of news may be blant and mundane.Moreover the are chances werein more advertisements are played at the time of news therby less information being communicated by the news center. Furthermore, there are chances weherein the stations employees such as the news anchor and other professionals does not stick to code of conduct required for a professional in this area of expertise. Addtionally, there could be chances that other news center take on an innovative approach to pass on information that arrests the attention of the viewers than this station.Therefore, the comppalints of the viewers have to be taken into consideration before making a suggestion to resolve the issue.

Moreover, it has been stated that the station lost several advetising contracts with local bussinesses. However, it is iilogical to suggest that it was due to increased time for national news. Advertising their firm and busiinesses on natpnal news leads them to be more popular on a national clae which could prove beneficial for them. However, the reasons for their withdrwal could be due the tensions between the mangament of the advertising comany and the station. Moreover, it could be that their adevertiments had less screen time that forced them to take an action. It is also hihly possible that they must have given advertiaments to news stations with higher viewership.

To conclude, several factors must be taken ito consideration while suggesting a solution for the above arguement. Without providing adequate arguements such as those presented above the above memorandum is severely undermined.