Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The above argument is a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. According to the memo, fewer people attended the movies produced by Super-Screen movies during the last year. This was reoported to be the least number in the last few years. Yet, the memo states that the number of pistive reviews by movie reviewers increased during the particular year. The memo further states that , due to the above reason, the qulaity of movies is excellent, however people lack the awareness that good movies are available. The memo, finally bring up with a resolution to mitigate the situation. It suggests that the company should allocate greater amount of its budget to increase public awareness through advertising. The memo presents an issue that is often faced by film production companies. While memo's suggestion seem to be valid and reasonable, at a glance, a further analysis reveals some of points that challenges its authencity. The memo has assumed some facts to conclude it solution.

First of all, the memo suggest that the percentage of good reviews increased while the number of people attending its movies have considerably decreased, over that last year. This statement sounds valid, but the memo does not provide the exact number of positive reviews from movie critics nor does it present the number of people attending its movies. The number of good reviews might have increased from one to two percent. Similarly, the number of people attending athe movie might have dropped by ten people compared to the last few years. Therefore, a detailed report as to the pernetage of increase and the number of viewership decreased has to be discussed to autheticate the claim of the memo.

Similarly, the memo states that the quality of movies have increased. This stsement is supported by the fact that the percentage of good reviews have increased. However, the exact number of good reviews have not been specified. It could be a case wherein, the number of good reviews have increased by one or two. This need not mean that the movies are of good quality that it should attract the people.To add on, there is also a case wherein the the number of bad reviews are more than the number of posiitve reviews. Similary, the memo states that movie reviewers or critics have reviewed the movies. What critics have reviewed need not necessarily be received by the people. Therefore, an exact number of reviews should be specified, to validate the point that good quality movies were produced.

Finally, the memo states the public has become unaware that good quality movies are available. The decrease in viwership cannot be attributed to the lack of awareness, especially when the public know about such a production company and have attended their movies in the recent years. AN exact reason have to identified. There could be cances that the people received the movie in poor taste inspite of postive reviews. Therefore, the exact reason that caused in less attendence should be analysed.

To conculde, the memo presents a superficial analysis of the isuue it states. A through analysis should be conducted. Numbers pertaining the the viewwership and the number of reviews have to be presented to autheticaate its stance on the issue