GRE Argument: An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The statement above presents a recommendation to overcome the vitamin -A deficiency tat plagues the indignants of the impoverished nation of Tagus. It states that a new millet which is high in vitamin A levels has been engineered by an international development organization. Further, it states that subsidies will be allocated to support farmers who cultivate these engineered and expensive millets instead of the conventional millet, grown in Tagus. The recommendation assumes that the citizens will readily adopt the new variety as millet is considered a staple food in Tagus. The statement finally, asks the government of this impoverished nation to lend full support to combat the scarcity of vitamin A by promoting the newly engineered millet. While the recommendation seems to be an appropriate solution to the problem faced by the people of Tagus, it does not give adequate explanations or evidence to support its claim. Further the recommendation assumes that the people of Tagus will readily adopt the newly bred millets, which could severely undermine its stance , if not provided evidence.

To begin with, the recommendation states that the newly bred millet is high in vitamin A. The term high is quite vague in the context. Adequate information must be presented what is the exact amount of vitamin A that it supplements. It is a possible scenario, that the newly bred millet is only supplements an amount slight higher than the native millet. In such as case, the newly bred millet will be an additional burden on the citizens of Tagus, especially when it comes of cost. On the other hand, there is a possibility that the amount of vitamin A supplemented is quite high that could help the people of Tagus, inspite its cost.Therefore, accurate measurements should bbe provided to substatiate the recommendation. Similary, additional nutritional facts should be rovided to ensure that other vitains and nutrients were not sacrificed in order to achieve higher Vitamin A levels. This will make the newly bred millet authentic and reliable.

Secondly, the recommendation states that subsidies will be provided to farmers cultivating the new crop. This again seems quite vague as additional information on what , how and when are subsidies going to be provided. The nation of Tagus faces from both poverty and vitamin A deficinecy. For instance, if thhe subsidies provided are not that effective in negating the financial issue faced by farmers to buy new millets, it could turn to be a huge problem for the organization. Therefore, additional information on the subsidies should be provided to bolster its claim.

Finally, the statement assumes on the important fact that could seriously, undermine its stance: “People of Tagus will readily adopt the new crop”. This assumption states that the organization has not done deliberate studies o the people of Tgaus while bringing out the recommendation. There is a high possibility that people cannot adopt it at all or adopt the illet at slow pace. While the former could backfire the organization to a large extent, te latter can make the organization to be stultified by weak profits and usage. Both of these situations harm the organization and the people of Tagus in a severe manner, that could make the recommendation inadequate and insuffiecient to garner support from the government. Exteensive studies must be conducted by the organization to understand how people could adopt the new millet especially when it is quite different from the traditional, home grown ones. These studies could provide a better understanding and could bolster te claim of the recommendation.

To conclude, the recommendation while seems to be the solution of the vitamin A deficiency faced by the people of Tagus, a further analysis could seriously undermine its stance. Various supporting evidences and studies must be conducted before appealing the government to support the newly bred millets. These include the exact amount of vitamin A , and the information pertaiing to subsidies provided. Similarly, extensive studies must be presented on how people will adopt to the new millet.These details add validity and makes the recommendation credible.