“In most societies, competition generally has more of negative than a positive effect”.

We live in a world that demands the best out of us. There is no doubt that our communities and societies are the most competitive in the history of time. Due to this reason, debates have risen whether competitions have more negative than positive effect on our lives. The statement above is also on the similar lines. However, I strongly believe that competition brings out the best out of us, and thus best out of the society.

To begin with, competitions help society to grow. Since societies consists of people, competitions challenges individuals to push themselves out of their comfort zone and think outside the box. These individuals have pivotal role in eradicating many of the problems the society face. For instance, governmental elections can be seen as a form of competition. Such a competition calls courageous and confident individuals to come out the common mass to declare their candidacy along with their agendas to help the society grow, by carefully understanding the problems faced by the people of the that society. This competition helps the common man to determine the best leader out the best. Therefore, competition helps people to come out their comfort zones to be the spearhead of a society’s growth, by addressing and overcoming the challenges faced by them.

Secondly, competition calls for an individual to be active and helps to instill knowledge. As we know “Knowledge is power”. Therefore, this is pivotal for the development of the wellbeing of an individual. It is a universal fact that all human beings are not the same. People belong to different social and financial backgrounds. Some individuals have the privileges of life, while others are not gifted with the same. However, it is to be understood that there is a competitive spirit within us. Therefore, competition motivates us to rise up from our quotidian way of living and to become achievers in life. For instance, we know that the GRE is an exam that is required for an individual to take to get admission into the best graduate schools available. However, it is also to be understood that such an exam provides an opportunity to dive into the rich vocabulary and learn the various words that could help us in improving the beautiful language of English. Moreover, such an exam requires us to pay attention to detail , be organized and prepare and execute a study plan according to our demands. Such values are required for an individual to be successful in life. In short competition allows us to be an achiever than a doer.

However, just being competitive has the potential that can be detrimental to the health of society. In order to facilitate growth of a society, competition and cooperation must work hand in hand. Just being competitive, allows us to be productive and efficient inn our day to day work just like machines: productive, efficient, but soulless. Today’s world challenges us to be competitive and cooperative. It is with these qualities can our society thrive the hardships of time. For example, news breaking issues such as climate change affect not only the present generation but also the future generation. Being just competitive makes us answerable to our children about why we couldn’t stop these issues. However, the key to solve these problems start with cooperation. For example, the various countries have pledged the reduction of carbon footprint to resolve global warming. However, it is with cooperation that this could be achieved. Developed nations could lend a helping hand to developing nations by reducing latter carbon footprint by availing access to technology developed by the former countries. Through cooperation, we become one team irrespective of our nationality, social and financial background to tackle such global situations. Through cooperation, we could leran from our mistakes from one another, be a better man and resolve issues that threaten the very existence of our life.

To conclude, competition along with cooperation helps a society to grow and spread its wing sof prosperity. Cometiton challneges an individual to thik outside the box and provides room for development.