The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of men and women that the society chooses its heroes or its role models

Some intellectuals would state that, to understand the social nuances and traits of a society, the best possible way is to observe the characteristics of the role model it chooses, however, I refute the claim. In my opinion the claim is based on a broad generalization and is unlikely to succeed.

Firstly, a society is not a monochrome shade of character. It consists of vivid characters ranging from the eclectic orange to the mysterious grey. Based on a single person, it is ridiculous to characterize the entire society. For instance, consider one of the greatest leaders the world has ever witnessed, Mahatma Gandhi. He was an epitome of peace. It was almost impossible for a common man to stand up to his ideals. Not everyone was like him. If it were the case, he would have never been shot dead. Although, his character was equivalent to one of the most ideal man in a society, he was assassinated by an individual belonging to the same society. This example elucidates the fact that the society can’t be looked from the lens of the hero’s character.

Secondly, heroes share a great responsibility to protect the society from detrimental forces. Seldom these forces are derived from the same society we live in. To illustrate this fact, consider the movie “The Dark Knight”, directed by Christopher Nolan and starring Christian Bale as Batman. The city of Gowtham was so ubiquitous with venal officers and scoundrels, that an individual from the society had to rise and correct its course. Its not that the city had lost all of its honest men, but the grey shade was more prevalent. Again, observing the traits of Batman, who could do anything for the betterment of his city, aren’t a reflection of the traits of the society he belonged.

Thirdly, at times, the society chooses a role model, to keep itself on the path of truth and honesty. It may not necessarily the current characteristic picture, however, it provides the vision for what an ideal society ought to be. In Indian mythology, lord Rama is considered to be the epitome of “Dharma”, the path of enlightenment and salvation. He is worshipped all across the country. He is the mythological superhero, yet the society we live in today is nowhere close to the traits possessed by him.

In a nutshell, a hero is someone who represents the most ideal traits and characteristics a society deserves, but not a reflection of what the society currently is. Hence, it is quite unlikely that social traits of a society can be understood by examining that of its role model.